"Beautiful B&B with great attention to detail"

TripAdvisor

Glendon Bed and breakfast hallway with front door open

Glendon Bed and Breakfast reviews

Blue scroll

Take a look at our reviews from previous guests from Google, Tripadvisor and emails . If you have already stayed with us, we would love to hear from you about your time at Glendon. To leave a review please either click on the Google button if you have a Google account, or complete the form below.

Google Reviews

Excellent location in the centre of town with it’s own car park. The guest lounge, dining room and bedrooms are stylishly decorated and comfortably furnished. The beds are very comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are spectacular! Expect a warm welcome from Adrian, Damien and their lovely team, you won’t be disappointed.

Marion Rutherford Avatar Marion Rutherford
06/08/2023

Superb guest house. Cannot fault it all. This was our second visit. Adrian and Damien are excellent hosts and extremely helpful. We definitely intend to return!

Jen Best Avatar Jen Best
11/06/2023

What a find! The Glendon Bed & Breakfast was all we hoped for and more. Our room was extremely comfortable, had plenty of space, a fabulous view over the park and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, piping hot and very tasty- especially the blueberry pancakes. Our host was very welcoming and pointed us to some lovely places to visit during our stay. I have no hesitation to recommend The Glendon and we will definitely return.

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
clare Martins Avatar clare Martins
11/06/2023

The hosts are very welcoming and helpful, rooms quiet, clean and comfortable and the location is very convenient for visiting local attractions.

Andrew Nephin Avatar Andrew Nephin
11/05/2023

This is the best B&B we have stopped in from the welcome we felt so relaxed. The place is decorated so tastefully.I have worked in the hospitality sector for the last 35 years and know how hard it is. The breakfast was first class with local produce. We will be returning.

Ann Russell Avatar Ann Russell
11/05/2023

We had a lovely stay at Glendon. The breakfasts were really tasty. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely and hot. The little touches make all the difference and nothing was too much trouble.

Jason Neal Avatar Jason Neal
11/05/2023

What can i say.!!! My wife and I stayed for three days and were completely taken with the friendly professionalism of Adrian & Damien. From the tea and cake in the guest sitting room on arrival, our beautiful on suite room and, delightful breakfasts to the complimentary port and sherry we enjoyed each evening everything was of the highest standard. I must mention that on Easter Sunday each guest found a chocolate rabbit at their breakfast place. To top it off there is great parking on site which is especially handy as you can walk everywhere in Matlock.

Mick Casey Avatar Mick Casey
11/05/2023

We had a 4 night stay at Glendon B&B and could not fault it. Excellent location within easy walking distance of Matlock centre, good size parking spaces and secure bike storage. The house is beautifully presented, clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were given a non cooked alternative in our room on the morning we needed to be out early. The welcoming, friendly hosts thought of every little extra to make our stay very pleasant. We highly recommend staying here and will hopefully return next year.

Angela Beall Avatar Angela Beall
11/05/2023

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Matlock. Beautiful guesthouse full of thoughtful touches, so luxurious but comfortable, with welcoming hosts.

Sarah B Avatar Sarah B
30/03/2023

Best swish B&B ever, stylish decor throughout wonderful owners breakfast was plentiful and a great choice all local produce a great 2 night stay we will be back later in the year .

David Randall Avatar David Randall
16/03/2023

Really recommend. Lovely clean room and facilities in an ideal location. Breakfast was delicious. Really good value and would definitely stay again.

Lauren Chambers Avatar Lauren Chambers
09/03/2023

This is an excellent B&B with friendly hosts - so much thought has been given to the 'little extras'. The homemade cake and proper tea in the guest lounge was a lovely welcome. The bedroom was clean and warm, with fresh milk in the fridge and an amazingly comfy bed. Breakfast choices were excellent and tasty. It's also reassuring to have onsite parking and the option to walk into the town. The only problem now is deciding when to return!

Elisabeth Briggs Avatar Elisabeth Briggs
06/03/2023

Amazing B&B. Perfect stay. Such attention to detail and brilliant hosts. We will return. No idea why only the rating came up so have edited to say how lovely it was to stay.

Elaine Nelson Avatar Elaine Nelson
06/11/2022

The most wonderful stay as usual. Damien and Adrian go above and beyond a Bed and Breakfast, can't recommend highly enough. Can't wait to come back next year!

Melanie Redman Avatar Melanie Redman
06/11/2022

We had been booked in here by our friends.We have stayed in Matlock for many years but this was the best B&B an amazing place.the rooms are very tasteful decorated and Breakfast was very filling and lovely local food.nothing was too much trouble.will defiantly be back.

Roy Last Avatar Roy Last
06/11/2022

This is a gem of a bread and breakfast. One of the best places I have stayed. We received a lovely welcome , shown to our room and had complimentary coffee and homemade lemon cake waiting for us in the guest sitting room. This had lovely views of the park . Our room was immaculate, a beautiful room a menu for breakfast which is an excellent idea. The breakfast choice was varied, I chose the full English. It was superb, the best breakfast I've ever had. Tea and coffee were served in proper China tea cups and the breakfast room was immaculate and overlooked the park. If you ever get a chance choose the Glendon first class Hotel with excellent hosts . We will definitely be returning

Claire Hurren Avatar Claire Hurren
16/10/2022

Such a friendly welcome and beautiful place to stay. Such attention to detail in the rooms and nothing was too much trouble. Central place in Matlock so everything on the doorstep including the beautiful park.

Sue Addy Avatar Sue Addy
06/09/2022

We had a wonderful stay at Glendon Bed and Breakfast, from the welcome to the goodbye Damien could not have been friendlier. Nothing was too much trouble from advice on places to visit to returning a necklace which I left behind. A delicious breakfast in a lovely light airy dining room set you up for the day and a lovely clean comfortable room ensured a good night. All three of you were friendly, helpful and did a great job, thank you

cathryn & stephen Norrington Avatar cathryn & stephen Norrington
06/09/2022

1st time staying at Glendon and when we return to visit relatives this will be the place we will be staying again. We cannot fault our stay, from the bedrooms, the breakfast and the service. All perfect. Also in the heart of Matlock Town making it easy for short or long walks and all the bars shops and restaurants. Thank you for our stay.

Roy Thompson Avatar Roy Thompson
26/08/2022

We had a wonderful stay at Glendon Bed and Breakfast, from the welcome to the goodbye Damien could not have been friendlier. Nothing was too much trouble from advice on places to visit to returning a necklace which I left behind. A delicious breakfast in a lovely light airy dining room set you up for the day and a lovely clean comfortable room ensured a good night. All three of you were friendly, helpful and did a great job, thank you

cathryn & stephen Norrington Avatar cathryn & stephen Norrington
26/08/2022

Reviews sent via email or from Tripadvisor

Beautiful B & B

The Glendon is an absolutely fabulous B & B ! Our room was beautifully decorated with Laura Ashley wallpaper and fabrics and all the public areas were equally lovely. Adrian, Damien and Amanda were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The location is great – near the centre of Matlock but in a nice, quiet area. Easy parking. Walking distance to various restaurants (we used the Red Lion pub which is just across the road and Viva Italian down in the town – both good). Wonderful breakfast. What more can we say? Just go and try it – you won’t be disappointed!!

Lynda and Jim Binnie
18th and 19th May 2024

Great location

Just wanted to say thanks for, a lovely stay at Glendon House
Great location and good breakfast
Would recommend to all if you want a nice b&b in Matlock

Paul and Marilyn.
Nov 23

5 star find

This is probably the best guesthouse we have ever visited. The rooms are delightful, the decor tasteful and the food wonderful. Adrian and Dominic are lovely hosts and gave us tips for eating and exploring. Which proved great and all within walking distance. No hesitation in recommending to all our friends and family.5star rating.

Ian
September 2023

Fabulous Stay

We had a most welcoming and comfortable stay at Glendon B&B . The immaculate, beautifully decorated Victorian Town House is in an excellent location with on site parking , and whilst situated close to local amenities and within walking distance of several recommended restaurants, has views across the park and St Giles Church .
Our hosts Damien and Adrian made every effort to give their guests the best possible stay. The breakfasts are first class and service whilst impeccable was also very personable. The beautiful guest lounge was a great place to wind down and chat with others who were staying there.
We look forward to returning
Barry and Rosemary

Barry and Rosemary
August 2023

Another Fabulous Stay

Yet another fabulous stay at this fantastic guest house. Glendon B and B has got to be the best B and B we have stayed at. This was our 3rd visit and was as amazing as ever. Its a beautiful property in a fabulous location. The rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable. All amenities you could wish for. The guest sitting room is lovely, comfortable and peaceful. Lovely outside area to sit out and chill and free parking. Breakfast at Glendon is fabulous, freshly cooked with the best ingredients and so much choice. The hosts Adrian and Damian are delightful, so friendly, helpful and welcoming as are the rest of the team. We would highly recommend Glendon and couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else when in the area.

Sue and Roy
August 2023

A most enjoyable stay at Glendon

My second stay was no less of a delight than the first. The elegant, tastefully created house with its inviting guest sitting room and extremely comfortable bedrooms with high class beds and beautifully fitted bathrooms with powerful showers with seemingly inexhaustible supplies of hot water make an excellent start which is enhanced by very good range of carefully prepared, delicious breakfast options and crowned by the courteous, friendly and unendingly helpful hospitality of Adrian and Damien turn Glendon House into an irresistible place to stay, to which you want to return time and again.

Ernst
10th to 14th July 2023

Fabulous Guest House

It was our first time to stay at Glendon, and I can guarantee it certainly won’t be the last. Hosts Adrian and Damien were excellent. Glendon is a beautifully appointed guest house, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, brilliant in every way. Well situated in Matlock, close to a park affording easy access to many of the local food establishments. Breakfast at Glendon is absolutely second to none, great menu choice – and nothing too much trouble for the hosts. Everything within Glendon is of the highest quality. we will return as soon as we can.

Richard How
June 2023

Glorious two nights

Definitely the vey best B&B we have stayed in. The welcome was very friendly with a Pot of Tea and Cakes. The room was comfortably furnished with a lovely view from the window overlooking the river.
A short and pleasant walk through the park takes you to restaurants and shopping facilities.
Breakfast was delicious and well presented.
An all round wonderful experience. .

John
June 2023

Everything was just right for us!

Everything was just right for us at this lovely Victorian house. Damian and Adrian are welcoming, helpful, thoughtful and friendly hosts. Their attention to detail, in all sorts of ways, was the ‘cherry on the cake’:
e.g. their specific directions for parking on arrival were helpful; -fresh milk in our bedroom fridge instead of the usual UHT; -a quiet and comfy lounge, with a lovely view into a public garden opposite was a great place to spend a spare hour – games, magazines, books to read – all needs met!

Breakfasts were delicious served on lovely crockery on pristine white cotton table cloths. Our bed was so comfy so there was no ‘first night poor sleep’ ,………. and I could go on. Needless to say we recommend a stay at Glendon House and hope to return ourselves to see more of beautiful Derbyshire and enjoy another few nights at Glendon House.

Eunice
June 2023

Perfect weekend

Perfect hosts. Thoughtful touches and beautiful flowers throughout. Breakfast was good quality local produce. Both my husband and I commented as we pulled out of the carpark that we will definitely return.

Jo-Anne
June 2023

Simply the best

We’ve both visited the Glendon for many years, even before Adrian and Damien took ownership and have never had any doubts that the Glendon is Simply the Best. Our latest visit for four nights fell on one of the hottest weeks of the year but the spacious rooms were cool, a large comfy bed after a day of touring and an excellent breakfast awaiting us next morning. Our hosts couldn’t do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. That welcoming pot of tea and a slice of lemon drizzle cake which has now become a tradition on our arrival always marks the start of a most enjoyable stay. Thank you all so much.

Ken and Marie
June 2023

Excellent as always !

We have recently returned from another, now annual, great stay at Glendon House, our 9th or 10th visit. As always Adrian and Damien are the perfect hosts, so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable with everything you may need during your stay. There is a plentiful choice at breakfast, all prepared to perfection – and we mustn’t forget to mention the delightful Amanda who usually waits at table. We will certainly return again next year – why would anyone want to stay anywhere else in Matlock !

Alan and Gill
June 2023

Amazing find!

What a find! The Glendon Bed & Breakfast was all we hoped for and more. My husband said the photos on the website didn’t do the place justice- the place looked even better than in the photos! Our room was extremely comfortable, had plenty of space, a fabulous view over the park and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, piping hot and very tasty- especially the blueberry pancakes. Our host was very welcoming and pointed us to some lovely places to visit during our stay. I have no hesitation to recommend The Glendon and we will definitely return.

Clare
05/23

5 Star Excellence

Not our usual choice of places to stay. Hotels have been our norm for many years. Having found none suitable, Glendon Guest House was recommended as an excellent alternative. And how right the informant was.
Equally comparable to many 5 star hotels, in fact , better than many. Friendly helpful hosts without being obtrusive.
Will stay again and recommend.

Jackie & John
May 2023

Beautiful and comfortable place to stay, a real favourite.

This such a lovely place to stay. Adrian and Damien were great hosts. Everything is immaculate and clean. The attention to detail is wonderful and makes such a difference. Very comfortable with a delicious breakfast. Adrian has created a fabulous outside seating area with the most amazing display of Hostas, lovely to sit in the sunshine. There is also a sitting room beautifully furnished with games and complimentary glass of Port or Sherry. So nice to have somewhere else to relax in the evening after a busy day out. We were greeted with home made cake and freshly brewed coffee snd tea when we first arrived. A really great B&B and deserves 5 stars.
Great location to visit the Peak District.

Susan Camm
May 2023

Every bit as good as we hoped.

The website gives a very good impression of this B&B and we were not disappointed. It met our highest exceptions – nothing to fault at all. We particularly liked the resident’s lounge which gave a comfortable place to meet up with the others in our group and plot our days out.

David
May 2023

Top Drawer B&B

Glendon B&B is the most charming place to stay. Every comfort is afforded, detail considered and service impeccable. Adrian and Damian are entirely consummate and professional hosts, with impeccable standards and seriously stylish flair. I have not stayed in a better B&B and you will not be disappointed. I recommend Glendon unreservedly.

Karen
April 2023

Highly Recommended

Can highly recommend Glendon Guest House. Delicious breakfast, quiet and comfortable rooms with a relaxing guest Lounge.
Perfect base in Matlock and lots of recommendations on where to eat etc.

Carolyn
April 2023

Perfect

A warm welcome followed by a perfect stay in this immaculate guest house, perfectly located and providing every comfort.
Superb breakfast. Would stay anytime again.

Norma
April 2023

Perfect

A perfect stay, Adrian and Damien have thought of everything for your time with them, from the warm welcome, the cleanliness, luxury toiletries and superb breakfast, all in a friendly atmosphere and in the ideal location.

Norma
April 2023

Perfect

I received a warm welcome to this friendly b and b and found everything excellent from the location, the immaculate cleanliness and comfort of the accommodation.
The attention to detail was amazing, Elemis toiletries, courtesy tray and fridge in room and a perfect breakfast to set one up for the day.

Norma
April 2023

Perfect

I received a warm welcome and instantly felt comfortable and relaxed , everything I could want was on hand. It made my stay as a lone elderly lady very enjoyable.

From the location, the friendliness, cleanliness and superb breakfasts, everything was excellent.

Norma
April 3023

Wonderful B&B

What can i say.!!! My wife and I stayed for three days and were completely taken with the friendly professionalism of Adrian & Damien. From the tea and cake in the guest sitting room on arrival, our beautiful on suite room and, delightful breakfasts to the complimentary port and sherry we enjoyed each evening everything was of the highest standard. I must mention that on Easter Sunday each guest found a chocolate rabbit at their breakfast place. To top it off there is great parking on site which is especially handy as you can walk everywhere in Matlock.

Mick&Peggy
Easter 2023

Ticks all the boxes!

Damian was a perfect host, and the view from our family room was beautiful. One of the best breakfasts we ever had. Excellent location within Matlock. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a classy bed and breakfast.

MF from Tripadvisor
March 2023

Faultless

Glendon is a really first-class B&B that I would recommend to anyone. The house itself is beautiful and tastefully decorated as well as being well located. Our room was on the top floor with a lovely view across to the church, with a comfortable bed and a selection of pillows. Everything we needed was provided, including two little touches that my wife always notices – fresh milk for tea and a plug close to the mirror for hair drying :)The breakfast was superb with a really wide choice on the menu and the Eggs Royale, Eggs Benedict and Blueberry pancakes we tried were all top notch.
Next time I go back to Matlock I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Padmeister101 from Tripadvisor
March 2023

High-class without being pretentious

This is our third stay over a number of years which speaks for itself. Glendon is high-class without being pretentious. Adrian and Damien are warm and welcoming. Glendon combines traditional comfort with a clean and modern touch and the breakfast is unbeatable.

David and Margaret
March 2023

Outstanding

Such a Beautiful B/B full of character run by a couple that puts great attention to detail on everything. The Breakfast is first class. There is no room for improvement here because you cannot improve on Excellence.

Denise R
March 2023

Great B&B

Really nice stay. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room (family suite) was spacious, quiet and nicely laid out (comfy beds too). Top breakfast in the morning to round things off. Highly recommended👍

Simon M from Tripadvisor
February 2023

Glendon House is up there with the best

Visited Matlock for a 2 night midweek break – so glad we discovered Glendon House, a gem!! On arrival, we were warmly greeted by both Damien, in the car park and Adrian in the reception area. After Adrian had shown us to our room there was complimentary tea/coffee and homemade lemon cake waiting for us in the guest sitting room. The well-furnished sitting room is a lovely facility, ideal for relaxing over an afternoon complimentary glass of port or sherry or reading or for socialising with other lucky guests.

We were in Room 1 – the four-poster room – it was spotlessly clean, with a super comfortable bed, two large comfortable “Chesterfield style” armchairs, a good-sized en-suite shower room, large wall-mounted TV, fridge and hospitality tray. What more could you want or need!!

Breakfast in the dining room was a wonderful experience with a selection of hot and cold offerings – the “full English”, made up of excellent quality locally sourced ingredients, was superbly cooked and presented.

No doubt about it, Glendon House is up there with the best.

landcruiserBJ from Tripadvisor
February 2023

Beautiful B&B ideal location

Fantastic place to stay! Our host Adrian welcomed us and nothing was too much trouble for him throughout our 3-night stay. Glendon was an immaculate house which was spacious but felt very comfortable and cosy. A small walk into the town had a great choice of eateries catering for every taste. We will definitely be back!

karen g from Tripadvisor
February 2023

Book this gem and relax in perfect surroundings

I bought a night at this place for my parents as a valentines treat last night. I have just spoken to my mum and she cannot praise this place enough. Right from the point of check-in to leaving they were treated exceptionally well. Adrian looked after them and made sure nothing was too much trouble even providing welcome tea/coffee and cake on arrival. The room was elegant, comfortable and cosy. The rest of the establishment was of the same quality. The breakfast was amazing and the choice was good. It is a very short walk to the centre and there was ample parking. My mum and dad are 73 so I wanted something special and it sounds like they got it and have told me they will be going back. What more can you ask for. Thanks, Adrian and team it was a pleasure dealing with you

Shaun from Tripadvisor
February 2023

Excellent B&B

This is an excellent B&B with friendly hosts – so much thought has been given to the ‘little extras’. The homemade cake and proper tea in the guest lounge was a lovely welcome. The bedroom was clean and warm, with fresh milk in the fridge and an amazingly comfy bed. Breakfast choices were excellent and tasty. It’s also reassuring to have onsite parking and the option to walk into the town.
The only problem now is deciding when to return!

spethy31 from TripAdvisor
February 2023

Perfect as always

Lost count of how many times we have stayed at Glendon as we have been visiting for years it’s our favourite place. From arrival to Departure attention to detail is first class all the way, you guys just go above and beyond to make sure our stay is perfect Glendon is beautiful well maintained has high standards and breakfast is just the best. See you all soon xx

Caroline
01/12/22

Perfect place to stay when visiting the area.

Marvellous room, en-suite and bed. Pillows, quilts and sheets are all top class. Breakfast has a wide choice and the staff could not be more helpful. Could not be better value for money. Perfectly placed for the town centre.

Kevin C from Tripadvisor
December 2022

Thoroughly Enjoyed our Stay at Glendon House

We stayed 3 nts at Glendon House we received a very warm welcome from Adrian on what was a wet and miserable day. The Afternoon Tea and homemade lemon drizzle cake was very nice.
Our room was very comfortable and spotless with an excellent choice of Tea / Coffee or Hot Chocolate with fresh milk in the Fridge. My wife was well impressed with the Elemis Products in the Bathroom.
The choice on the Breakfast Menu was excellent as was the Cooked Breakfast which was cooked to perfection. Amanda who served us really did look after us on our stay. We would recommend Glendon House to anyone.

David & Deborah

Glendon is special.

Glendon is a special house to stay at, clean, luxurious features, great breakfast, friendly and knowledgeable host Damien. Location is just a 10 minute walk to the town centre through the park.
Will for sure be returning to Glendon. Thanks again to Damien, Adrian and the pleasant lady at breakfast serving us.

Steve and Julia

A gem of a B&B in Matlock the best

This is our second visit and definitely not our last we have been friends for years and try to meet up somewhere in the middle (South Wales and North East England). Where to start the booking process is so easy with a confirmation via email. Check is just the same shown to your room asked if you want help with luggage. The rooms are spotless with lovely refreshments and lovely Elemis toiletries you can adjust the heat on the radiators to your desired temp. The beds are very comfortable with high quality linen the curtains have blackout lining so the rooms are very dark which helps with a good nights sleep. The b&b has a lovely lounge to sit in before going out for the evening or just catching up on your day’s activities. Now breakfast where to start excellent excellent everything thing is well thought out fruit jars yoghurt jars nuts in jars choice of cereals plus other items the cooked items are lovely and locally sourced everything is cooked to perfection. Coffee tea and juices etc food served to your table. This place is a hidden gem with lovely hosts that go the extra mile to make your stay special. We have never re booked until we found the Glendon B&B and have re booked for next year.

Jacqui and Tania

Another wonderful stay

Another wonderful stay with Adrian and Damien. We had the four-poster room which was beautiful. It was our 2nd visit here and we hope to visit in the new year and bring our friends.

Carolyn Joslin

A gem of a B&B the best

What a gem this B&B is this is our second visit, the rooms are lovely clean warm with lovely bedding the tea and coffee are the same as served at breakfast there is a fridge with fresh milk and homemade cake when you arrive (we asked for fruit instead), the bathroom has Elemis wash/cream. There is a lovely sitting/lounge room that overlooks the front area. Breakfast is just outstanding made to order with locally sourced produce, with lovely friendly people serving. We never normally stay anywhere twice but this place is exceptional I wish I could give The Glendon 7 stars ******* we have booked for 2023 and will be booking every year. The hosts are exceptional and do everything they can to make your stay exceptional. Looking forward to our next visit.

Worldholidays from Tripadvisor
November 2022

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

We recently stayed at Glendon Guest House in October. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Glendon Guest House was lovely, perfect room, perfect breakfast and lovely hosts.
The location was ideal near the amenities of Matlock but also in a quiet area. We immediately felt at home thanks to our kind hosts.
Looking forward to our next stay.

Patricia and Colin

Lovely stay

Excellent in every way. Our first visit but it won’t be our last and we will be recommending Glendon to friends and family.

Clive
October 2022

Glendon Guest House

Wonderful hosts, great room and delicious breakfast. Definitely, the only place to stay in Matlock!

Guy and Amanda
October 2022

Everything is immaculate

This was my 5th visit with you. I absolutely love coming to your guest house. Everything is immaculate & so cosy particularly now Autumn is here. Breakfast was to the usual high standard, the 4-poster bed was splendid as was the room. You guys work so very hard & all the little unique touches around just add the magic of your guest house. I will return in the spring but will stay longer this time. Thank you gents.

Chris S.
Oct 2022

Enjoyable break

Lovely stay in a superb guest house. Everything was of high standard including the extremely varied breakfast choice. The room was clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect for a walk into town for the many restaurants via the park which is next to the premises. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. Also found the comfortable lounge complete with an assortment of games a great place to end the evening.
Would definitely stay again.

Sheila K.
October 2022

Another great stay !

Think this must be our 7th or 8th stay at Glendon, which I think says it all ! We just can’t fault it. Adrian and Damien were as friendly and welcoming as always, and the room as comfortable and spotless as usual. Breakfasts are delicious with a great choice, all very well prepared and served at your immaculately set table. There is ample parking, and outside seating area for those sunny days. Thank you Adrian and Damien, looking forward to our next stay !

Alan and Gill
August

Glendon

We so enjoyed our stay at Glendon Guest House. Our hosts worked very hard throughout our stay to provide clean serviced bedrooms and a 5 * breakfast.
Their kind and friendly customer service was much appreciated
I wish them well and hope to return

Judith
25/07/2022

Glendon

Our stay at Glendon in Matlock was everything one wanted, a warm welcome even from the dog Jasper It was in a lovely position in Matlock beautiful clean great breakfast. very helpful host in fact everything was perfect. Nothing needed changing just wish I had booked for two more nights. We will be back . Kathleen

Kathleen
June 2022

A wonderful stay

When I discovered Glendon on the Wolsey Lodges website I saw a promising looking house, tastefully decorated , which the further look at the Glendon website reinforced convincingly. But the actual experience of the visit far exceeded my expectations. My friends from Berlin and I received a warm welcome from Damien and we were served delicious tea and cake and felt instantly at home. How professionally and efficiently he and Adrian run this charming Bed& Breakfast house became increasingly clear during our five night stay. Everything in the house was maintained impeccably and breakfasts could compete with any excellent hotel. As a result we enjoyed our stay enormously and I will certainly return to Glendon when I come to Derbyshire again.

Ernst

Wonderful

Wonderful location, wonderful accommodation, wonderful hosts.
What more can you say. If you want to stay in Matlock you want to stay at Glendon B & B.

Alan & Jackie B
July 2022

Our first stay at a B & B

Glendon B & B far exceeded our expectations. Our bedroom had everything you needed even fresh milk for tea and coffee. The sitting room was a lovely furnished room to relax and enjoy a drink after a day’s sightseeing. The breakfast was amazing with a variety of cereal , fresh fruit and different cooked options. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful on things to do, places to visit and where to eat. Location is perfect for trains, buses, restaurants and bars.
Wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again when visiting the area.

Henry and Sandra
May 2022

An Idyllic place to stay

What a wonderful place to stay. Right in the heart of Matlock but tucked back off the main road with plenty of parking space and facing a park in quiet crescent so it felt like you were a million miles away from everything.
The town and a multitude of eateries are a very short walk which you can do through the park.
The whole house is beautifully decorated, sparkling clean and with original features My bedroom was a haven of comfort with a 4 poster bed and Chesterfield armchairs.
I was greeted with a warm smile and offer of refreshments and cake. I was made to feel immediately at home. I have stayed in 5 star hotels with less interesting or delicious breakfast choices and it was nice to see the inventive approach to reducing plastic packaging waste.
I would not consider staying anywhere else if in the area

Lynn
April 2022,

Perfect

Just returned from our Easter Break weekend and as always just perfect. We have been visiting Glendon Guest House for several years now and will continue to do so, Adrian and Damien are absolutely lovely people and not forgetting Jasper too. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is first class from arrival to leaving, guests are always welcomed with coffee and cake, breakfast is high-end quality and the best ever, Rooms and facilities perfect , comfy beds. Nice little touches for Easter Hot cross buns and a gorgeous chocolate rabbit.
Glendon is maintained to an extremely high standard and is spotless it is an absolute credit to you. See you soon

The 4 of us
April

Just fabulous!!!

Had the most wonderful time at Glendon! Hosts really know what they’re doing! Place was spotless! Quiet!! Comfortable! Little touches everywhere like cake in your room for when you check in! Little chocolate eggs as it’s Easter for kids to help themselves!! A comp glass of port for the adults in sitting room!! Breakfast was divine!!! Best I’ve tasted!!! And on last day the kids even had a chocolate rabbit there ready for them on the beautifully set breakfast table!!! Really nice guys the hosts!!! You both should be proud of yourselves!! Can’t wait to return!

Tracy
12/4/22

Fabulous

Thank you for providing my friend and me with the most wonderful stay (in spite of the mixed, cool weather). You have mastered the art of hospitality to perfection and everything from our rooms to breakfasts and public sitting room was wonderful. The presentation and decor in every part of your B & B is 6*. I feel so fortunate to have found you when I was looking for accommodation in Matlock but any Wolsey Lodge would be hard-pressed to surpass your beautiful home and B & B. Well done and thank you again.

Margaret
March 2022

Delightful stay

Our trip to Matlock was made magical by our stay at Glendon. Thank you so much for such a delightful stay. Every single thing was perfect. Comfy beds, great location, spotlessly clean rooms, friendly and helpful hosts, beautiful house and views to the gardens and the most fantastic breakfasts! Thanks for the tea and cake on arrival, we had such a lovely time in the lounge playing board games. You’ve created a tranquil space that allowed my tech mad teenager to return to traditional games and family time. We hope to come back again!

Flavia
April 2022

A very professionally run B&B

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. This is a beautiful house…and a very professionally run B&B. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and warm. Bathrooms well equipped and a delightful sitting room to relax and enjoy the views over the park. Breakfast is perfect. A wonderful array of cereals,fruit compotes and yoghurts, followed by a cooked breakfast with very well-sourced ingredients. We will certainly recommend to our friends.

Pauline

Superb

Superb, been before, absolutely faultless, much careful thought has gone into choice of decor, furnishings, etc and the owners and staff couldn’t have been more amicable and efficient. Strongly recommend it to others.

Ben

Simply perfect

From the moment you arrive to when Jasper the spaniel follows you to your car to say goodbye, you are guaranteed a wonderful and relaxing stay at one of the best B&Bs in the country. Ideally we would like to keep this place a secret, but with all of the 100% accurate 5 star reviews we are just going to have to book earlier each year! Adrian and Damien have created a little slice of perfection in Matlock.

Jeff & Rachel
November 2021

Fantastic place to stay

Just had an amazing 2 nights stay
The hosts were fantastic , nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are impeccable as so are the facilities.
Very clean and comfortable rooms.
Breakfast is probably the best B&B breakfast we have ever had, so much choice, great produce and very well cooked
We will definitely be back

Stephen
15 October 2021

Exceeded expectations

Expectations were already high having stayed at their self catering house next door and reading all the previous reviews. However, our expectations were exceeded. We agree with all the previous positive comments and Glendon’s place as number one bed and breakfast is well deserved. The complimentary port or sherry in the guest sitting room was an unexpected feature and the lemon drizzle cake is excellent. Covid arrangements were reassuring but discreet. Keep up the good work.

Christine
September 2021

Another lovely stay!

We return to Glendon time and again, partly because with two children it’s really unusual to find a family room where the kids have their own separate bedroom off the main bedroom (until we’d all shared a family room at a Premier Inn, I had no idea how noisy my kids are when they sleep!!!). More than that though, we are always made to feel so welcome and the room is perfect, with plenty of space and amazing home made cake on arrival. Added to that, the breakfasts are out of this world, the location is ideal for local walks and for exploring the wider Peak District, and Adrian and Damien are two of the nicest people you’ll ever meet. Oh, and did I mention the cake?!

Jane
September 2021

Wonderful again!!

Our 3rd stay at the Glendon and it was just as good as the 1st. On arrival, a warm welcome and tea and cake served in the drawing room, always a bonus. We were on the 2nd floor in room 5 this time, usually in room 2 but still at the back of the house overlooking the cricket field. The rooms have everything you could possibly need for your stay, with a hairdryer, iron and board and superior quality tea tray and biscuits and bathroom shampoos etc. A comfy bed and milk in the quiet fridge.
Breakfast as ever was excellent with a very good choice, not just a full English you’re spoilt each morning. The location is excellent, just a short walk to shops, restaurants and bars and free parking at the property. We shall choose nowhere else when we return to Matlock as you can’t beat the best. Thank you again Adrien and Damien

Debbie & Dave
September 2021

Excellent stay

Very clean short walk into town excellent breakfast nothing was too much trouble, and a nice touch with the mini-fridge in the room lovely to have a cool glass of wine on a summers evening we will be back when we visit Derbyshire again. Carol & Norman.

Carol & norman
September 2022

excellent stay

Have stayed at least twice a year over 4 years. we have just returned from 3-night stay ( only once this year due to covid) As usual everything was excellent and were greeted with a usual pot of tea and lemon drizzle cake (homemade). Adrian and Damien are always pleased to see you despite covid restrictions. They cannot do enough for their guests. Their rooms etc are excellent, also their breakfasts. WELL WORTH A VISIT.

Christine & Keith

Christine
September 2021

Our 3rd visit to Glendon didn’t disappoint.

Our 3rd visit to Glendon didn’t disappoint. Glendon has all the little extras of a boutique hotel but with the personal touches of a 1st class bed and breakfast. Complimentary afternoon tea (excellent homemade lemon drizzle cake!) on arrival, stunning new outside seating area, the comfiest beds, 1st class coffee and tea in the rooms with fresh milk in a silent fridge. Big bath towels, an impressive hairdryer and an iron and ironing board in the cupboard, they have clearly thought of everything a guest might need. The breakfasts were simply delicious, and the owners were so friendly and helpful. We look forward to booking again soon!

Tessa
July 2021

Simply the best

This was my 4th stay at Glendon, which I think says it all!!

Karen
Aug 2021

Wonderful hosts and beautiful accommodation

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed at. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was a particular highlight – so delicious! Even though the Covid restrictions had lifted there were measures in place to make guests feel comfortable and safe. The location was perfect for visiting sites such as Cromford Mills and Chatsworth House. I would highly recommend this B and B!

Sarah
August 2021

Perfect Stay!

The most beautiful home in the perfect setting. Met on arrival with fresh coffee and homemade lemon drizzle cake waiting for us! The house is stunning, clean and spacious. Even though there are no government restrictions in place the hosts are very covid secure, wearing masks, socially distancing and sanitiser available throughout, so if you are still nervous about travelling don’t be! Breakfast was delicious, great selection of meat and vegetarian options. Beds comfortable, slept so well. Cannot recommend enough, will certainly be back!

Anna
August 2021

Wonderful place

What a wonderful place this is. Sadly just one night on our way up to the Lakes but just loved it. Exceptional value
Delightful to be welcomed with a tray of tea and cake in the sitting room and a super comfortable bed. Will definitely come back.

Peter
August 2021

Excellent

We have just returned from a four night stay at Glendon House and I can honestly say, it was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The room was lovely, food varied and delicious and Adrian and Damien were so friendly and helpful. They have thought of everything to give you a lovely break, it was just perfect.

Barbara
August 2021

Couldn’t fault this place.

Look no further if you’re planning a stay in Matlock. Such a friendly welcome and beautiful room. Everywhere was immaculate and the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. Lovely little touches in the room too with a small bottle of milk in the fridge and a great selection of teas and coffee. Elemis bathroom products provided, also. A beautiful house with private parking and only a short walk into the centre with locals pubs, bars, shops and restaurants. Can’t fault the place. Would definitely stay again.

Leanne
August 2021

Superb

We have been to Matlock a couple of times previously and found Glendon on the internet…what a lovely place to stay, nothing was too much trouble for these lovely gentlemen, very hospitable. Our room was just what we wanted, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were great too. The views from our window were gorgeous. It was the perfect location to access public transport. Will certainty visit again and recommend to friends/family. Excellent!

Lynne
August 2021

Cannot Fault a Single Thing!

We come to Matlock frequently and have stayed in various types of accommodation but this stay was by far our favourite. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome, and like the hosts couldn’t do enough for us. Every aspect of the house is beautifully decorated and clean, the bedroom was very comfy and homely, and the breakfast items we tried were delicious. We will definitely be staying again, as we loved it here. Highly recommend.

Shauna
August 2021

Excellent in so many ways.

A very comfortable and beautifully decorated guest house. There are so many good things about it that I do not know where to start. One example is the food which is excellent. You realise how good the coffee is when you stay somewhere else. We particularly loved the patio/seating area behind the house which is furnished with very comfortable outdoor seating. Adrian and Damien have gone to a great deal of trouble to make this area look truly beautiful with colourful and imaginative planting. This seating area was very popular with all the guests during the very hot weather, and we had many interesting conversations there with the other guests often late into the evening. If you do not wish to drive everywhere Matlock station is only a short walk away and the train will take you to the local attractions.

George
July 2021

I Cannot recommend highly enough!

Excellent location, absolutely stunning building, and cleanliness of the highest standard.
Beautiful outside courtyard to relax in.
We were made to feel very welcome, and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast (delicious!!!!).
Our room was beautiful, spotless and was a pleasure to stay in.
I cannot recommend highly enough!!!!
The hosts were fabulous!
Thank you for a wonderful stay ….will definitely be coming back!

Vicky
July 2021

Amazing as always!

This is at least our fourth visit and always our first choice to stay when visiting Matlock. The location is perfect, right next to the pretty park. The family room is well appointed and comfortable, with a fridge with fresh milk for teas and coffee and ideal for those with children as they have their own bedroom with bunk beds and just share the en-suite bathroom. The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts couldn’t be more helpful and welcoming. From allergy-friendly refreshments in the garden on arriving, to finding our sons favourite breakfast items from a previous visit, nothing seemed too much trouble. Thank you so much our stay was wonderful as always!

Jess
July 2021

Look no further when staying in Matlock

This is what all B & Bs should be like. Our room was clean, welcoming, well-appointed and spacious. The bed was comfortable, with soft cotton sheets. The shower was newly decorated, and spot on. There was a great view of the park from our room window. From the moment we arrived, the owners and staff were polite, attentive and helpful. Breakfast was excellent – and the service efficient and prompt. There is ample off-street parking for all guests. Oh and; complimentary tea on arrival just to round things off.

Well done, we will be back soon!

Adrian and Maggie P.
Jul 2021

Well Done!

I originally chose Glendon because of the electric car point and a charging space was even reserved for me on arrival!
I was immediately offered fresh tea ( not teabags) and cake ( delicious) and sat in the garden area to enjoy the same.
Lovely, homely listed property and my spotless room was light , airy and well equipped including a fridge. Comprehensive Covid measures were in place but not unduly intrusive.
The house is only a short walk from the centre of Matlock with plenty of places to eat and for a good walk after! It is also only 20 minute drive from Chatsworth House where I spent much of my second day.
Breakfast superb, and I recommend the blueberry pancakes!
I would especially recommend Glendon for people on their own. Nothing was too much trouble, and any request was met with “ You’re very welcome” which is how I felt during my all too brief stay. Thank you.
Well done! Paul B.

Paul
July 2021

Perfect location

What a wonderful guest house definitely the best I have stayed in rooms clean and one of the best showers complimentary lemon cake when you arrive & a pot of milk for your fridge in your room also in the fridge has chocolate which you pay for but the difference is they sell it as much as the shop does so a kit kat was 60p also tea /coffee facilities as well. They also supplied a fan for your room as it was hot that week. Lovely outside seating area where you can bring a takeaway and if they are about they would supply you a plate & knife n fork. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful cooked perfectly and once you’ve had it you will definitely not need to eat for the rest of the day.
I would like to thank Damien & Adrian for a wonderful stay and I would definitely stay here again nothing was a problem for these guys they both have a heart of gold all in all this was better than staying in a hotel as the personal touch’s they both do thank you again and I hope to be back one day soon 5 stars

Richard

Richard
20/07/21

100% and five 🌟 in every way

A truly fabulous B&B .
Glendon provided the best shower ever, a very comfortable bed, a superb choice of breakfasts (which were all cooked and presented to perfection) and the kindest hosts possible, who were genuinely concerned that we should have a perfect stay – nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you so much, Damien, Adrian and Jasper. You are all stars 🌟 🌟 🌟

Annette and Michael
July 2021

Delightful Return Visit

We said we would come back and we are so glad we did. It was as good as we remember, if not better. Definitely, the lemon drizzle cake (with the addition of blueberries this time!) was a welcome treat on arrival. Having a fridge in your room with fresh milk is just an example of the high standard that Adrian and Damien strive for in their guest house. The accommodation, hospitality and breakfasts are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. The outside space and seating has been developed with attractive planting and during this heatwave it was a godsend. We would highly recommend you stay here if in the Matlock area.

Anne-Marie
July 2021

The Jewel of Knowleston Place!

My four-night break in July 2021 evolved from a cancelled booking last June due to Covid restraints. Originally, I was to shared The Glendon experience with a friend from New York – we had planned to base ourselves at this boutique guest house whilst we looked at historic gardens and church monuments in The Peak District.
Adrian and Damien generously gave me the four-poster room this time, which overlooks Knowleston Gardens, a cool, green oasis that sits under a rocky outcrop – given the exceptionally hot weather whilst I was there this was the ideal place to quietly sit and cool off. The bed also has a view to St Giles Church tower. This jewel of a guest house is all that it promises and some. The hosts are gracious, sensitive, and generous with their hospitality, which makes it very special. If you plan to visit this area, take in an opera at Buxton (which I was lucky enough to do), then include a two-night or more stay at The Glendon to complete the joy this landscape, scenery and attractions have to offer, Excellent value on every level.

Susan
July 2021

I’d highly recommend a stay at Glendon

Myself and my husband had the most perfect weekend. Our room was immaculate and the bed so comfortable. The en-suite shower was also excellent with good water pressure. The view from our room onto the park and river was lovely, and we enjoyed a morning walk following the river round and then up to the war memorial with an amazing view of Matlock and beyond, climbing back down through the churchyard. We will definitely be back, great hosts and breakfasts were fantastic. Every little detail to make an enjoyable experience for your guests you thought of. I’d highly recommend a stay at Glendon.

A July Guest

The one you’ve got to come back for

Our annual treat with a week at the Glendon hotel and as usual Adrian and Damien pulled out all the stops to make it extra special starting on our arrival with a welcome pot of tea complimented with a slice of Lemon drizzle cake which is a tradition at the Glendon. Our room was spotless, breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and every care was taken to keep within the rules to protect us from Covid. We had no hesitation in booking for next year, looking forward to returning already

Ken and Marie
July 2021

Another return visit to Glendon House

It is always a pleasure to return to Glendon House safe in the knowledge that Adrian and Damien do not rest on their laurels. Whether it is negotiating the twists and turns of COVID or the thoroughness of their preparations in all areas of housekeeping, catering and atmosphere they are a hard act to beat.

In particular the food and service at breakfast was excellent with the right balance of good planning, good cheer, good choice and excellent food.

It is with interest that each time we return the total offering just gets better and better.

David
July 2021

Superb

Our second stay at Glendon and the welcome, service and attention to detail remains the same. SUPERB. Glendon is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast and plenty of places to eat. Lovely cake on arrival.
Covid arrangements made us feel very safe.
Adrian and Damien are excellent hosts and we would happily recommend Glendon to anyone wishing to stay in the Matlock area.

John & Maureen
July 2021

Matlock Again

The welcome by Adrian and Damien can’t be surpassed. The attention to detail is first class. Nice to see Jasper the dog again. Hygiene measures work well. Breakfast is unbelievably delicious. Choice is more than adequate. These guys have set the bar high. No doubt we will return. Keep up the good work gentlemen.

Kevin
July 2021

Our lovely stay

We had a lovely few days at Glendon. The welcome, the decor , the lovely garden and the delicious breakfasts were all super. The lemon drizzle cake will never be bettered!
Thank you both for a most enjoyable visit.

Peter and Pam
21.6.21

A quiet enclave

Glendon is set in a quiet enclave near to the centre of Matlock and it matches all expectations. Adrian and Damien are charming and helpful hosts and their operation is efficient, friendly and respectful. South-facing rooms overlook a tree-lined dale, the nearby charming parish church occupying an elevated limestone tor above. A five minute walk, crossing the River Derwent by a footbridge, leads to the ‘village’ centre with restaurants and antique shops.

Mr and Mrs A

Perfect weekend break

This is our third stay at Glendon. Lovely boutique style guest home. The welcome is amazing, spotlessly clean rooms, beautiful house with many nice touches and a great breakfast. The recent addition to the relaxing seating area in the courtyard is an added treat . Would highly recommend Glendon to anyone considering a break in this location .

Steven & Jan
June 21

Just Perfect

Our 2nd visit to The Glendon and we are already planning our return. We had the best time. Its a beautiful place to stop with wonderful hosts and the most delicious breakfasts.

Gill
June 2021

Fabulous hosts

This was our second visit to Glendon Guest House, it was so lovely to be back and to see the enhancements that Adrian and Damien have made to the beautiful property. We had a really comfortable stay, (amazing beds!) and the guys were very welcoming and helped us with local recommendations to visit. We felt very safe with attention to detail regarding COVID regulations. Thanks for being such great hosts, we will be back again.

Alan S.
May 2021

First class weekend stay

This was our second visit to Glendon. We love the house and Damien and Adrian are brilliant hosts. Nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. Overall this is a great place to stay and we recommend it without hesitation

Jan
Oct 20

A fantastic stay

This was our first visit to the Glendon and it will not be our last. We were made to feel safe and welcome from the moment we arrived by Damien. The Covid measures made us feel safe but did not in anyway spoil our stay. We felt very safe and cared for. The attention to detail was wonderful.
The standard of our room was excellent and breakfast was very very special. We spent an enjoyable day at Chatsworth and Damien provided us with lots of helpful information to make our day even better.

Gill Davis
Oct 2020

Fantastic stay

We had a fantastic stay at Glendon. The room was lovely and clean. Adrian and Damien went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, suggesting walking routes and places to visit. The breakfast was sensational! We will definitely be staying again and I highly recommend to all visiting the Peak District.

Robyn
October 2020

Gorgeous

Fabulous guesthouse. Beautifully decorated. Literally situated next to the beautiful gardens of the park. Short walk into the town. Breakfast was excellent. All local produce.!! Thank you for a much needed break. See you again!!!

Susan R
October 2020

Fantastic stay

Had the most lovely three night stay at Glendon. Room was beautiful and spotless and the breakfast was delicious. All the hygiene and Covid measures in place made us feel very safe. The location is perfect for a relaxing stay with easy walking distance to restaurants. The best thing about our visit was how much effort our lovely hosts went to to make us feel welcome and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. Happy to recommend and hope to stay again.

Alison
September 2020

Perfect

Everything was perfect; beautiful room and bathroom, delicious breakfast, every precaution against covid19 taken. We even saw a nuthatch on the bird feeder!

Jean & David
September 2020

Excellent

The accommodation came to us highly recommended by friends who had stayed previously. We were pleased to find they had not exaggerated, the establishment was well maintained, the cleanliness of a high standard and the staff most courteous. Set in Matlock the accommodation is well positioned for peak district touring and the sites on offer . Cannot fault the attention to detail and would not hesitate to recommend to future guests.
The breakfast is a treat and the welcome always warm. Highly recommended again !!

Rupert
September 2020

Exceptional Service

After being let down by another property at the very last minute, Adrian went out of his way to accommodate our friends as we had booked them a night away for a special celebration and it looked like being cancelled. Our friends said the b & b was beautiful, hospitality great and breakfast was lovely. I cannot thank the Glendon enough for the efforts they made. We will all definitely be booking again.

Donna
September 2020

ANOTHER FIRST CLASS STAY

Having stayed at The Glendon on a number of occasions, we had no hesitation in booking again knowing that the Covid19 restrictions would be more than adequately dealt with. Everything felt safe and as usual spotlessly clean. Thank you Adrian and Damien for all y our hard work in ensuring guests are kept safe.

Michael
August 2020

A truly relaxing experience

Had the most amazingly relaxing stay at Glendon. Accommodation spotless and hosts welcoming. All social distancing and enhanced cleaning rules observed, which made me feel safe . The beds were the most comfortable ever and breakfast was amazing. Can’t fault this BnB they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and special. Unfortunately, my stay was all too short however, felt totally replenished. Recommend without reservation.

Wendy
20th August 2020

Simply brilliant

This was our second stay at Glendon and it was an absolute pleasure to stay here Adrian and Damian can’t do enough for you. It’s a great base to stay at to explore the Peak District. I would say this is the best guest house we have ever stayed at

Duncan Pearson
August 2020

Perfect as always

Just come back from a 3 night stay and, as the heading says, perfect as always. We keep coming back. You are made to feel so welcome every time. The place was immaculate, no change there, and with the current situation we felt very safe too. The breakfasts are fantastic, the best scrambled eggs by far. We’ve stayed in a few places in matlock but the glendon is the best. See you soon

Sharon
August 2020

excellent bed and breakfast . Hosts always very helpful.

My husband and I have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Glendon Guest House. We always enjoy our visits. It is convenient to Matlock. all rooms ( bedrooms, Guest lounge, and breakfast) are excellent. The breakfast choices are suitable for everyone, with food from local suppliers, including flour from local mills. Why not try a visit especially during this difficult time with Covid 19. It is an ideal place to relax in and be pampered. nothing is too much trouble for the owners.
We hope to return later this year. Christine & Keith

Christine
August 2020

Superb

Simply excellent. Glendon is the most delightful place to stay. Helpful hosts, beautiful (and immaculate) rooms, delicious breakfasts. I will return.

Lindsay
August 2020

Faultless hospitality

This is such a special place that part of me doesn’t want to be too complimentary in case next time we want to visit they are fully booked! However that really wouldn’t be fair so take it from me that you will in no way be disappointed. Glendon House hospitality is second to none and, even with Covid restrictions, our stay was perfect. The beautiful house, our obliging hosts and the amazing breakfast coupled with the very convenient location should meet the expectations of any guest. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Ivor and Jane
August 5 2020

Brilliant

As all the other reviews have said the uniqueness of this B&B is the attention to detail and the real desire of the owners to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Nothing was too much trouble even down to recommending some great walks for us. Delicious breakfasts. We were very impressed with how well they had thought through the necessary safety measures regarding the covid – 19 issues. A very nice, reasonably priced, stay. We hope to return.

Roger

Fab short break

After a 3 month lockdown , it was so good to be back at the Glendon, can’t speak highly enough of the place …a spotless welcoming b&b, with extra care & attention to detail for these strange times, but at the same time feeling ‘normal’. Fab breakfasts as usual, and just an out & out brilliant stay
Thankyou all very much !

Neil t
3/8/20

Wonderful

Another perfect 2 night stay! Hospitality is second to none with coffee and cake on arrival, and in the morning a yummy breakfast to set us up for the day. Our 8 year old daughter is a big fan of the blueberry pancakes! Comfortable ensuite family room which was spotlessly clean. Bunk beds a big hit with our daughter as ever.
We will be back next year! Thank you Adrian & Damien

Sarah
July 2020

Our first break in 2020

It was great to be able to get away and we couldn’t imagine anywhere better to stay than a return to Glendon. A lot of work has been done to ensure a covid safe stay without making us feel uncomfortable. Adrian, Damien and the team provide a fantastic environment to relax and unwind, thank you.

Caroline
July 2020

Excellent as always

This was our third stay at Glendon House, and did not disappoint. We were made very welcome from the outset, and, although some changes had to be made due to COVID-19 they were hardly noticeable. The rooms were very comfortable & clean, and the service impeccable. Adrian and Damien do a fantastic job. The breakfast is varied and delicious. Would highly recommend.

Pat
July 2020

First class!

This was my second visit to Glendon. I was so pleased to see it open again after lockdown. The owners have taken every care to ensure that their guests are looked after safely. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are superb and there is space to relax. The attention to detail is very marked, for example, there is a fridge in the bedroom with a ‘proper’ bottle of milk to go with the coffee and the wide range of teas. A friend came to meet me, we sat in the garden and were offered a lovely pot of tea plus a slice of cake each. Highly recommended.

Susan
July 2020

Beautiful Guest House in the Peaks

I took my wife to Matlock for a surprise Valentine evening meal and I’d booked for us to stay at the Glendon Guest House for the night. What a beautiful house, immaculately clean, with nothing out of place and a 2 minute walk to the town. Adrian gave us a warm welcome on arrival, took us to our room and helped with the luggage. We had Room 1 with a four-poster bed overlooking the park. Everything was sumptuous and there was nice touch of a chocolate heart lain on the bed awaiting our arrival. For me it’s the little things that count – Adrian and Damien had paid attention to all of those in abundance. Breakfast was gorgeous – everything you could want for breakfast was available and there for us to choose from. All in all a really relaxing, pleasant stay. We will be back. Thanks.

February Guest
February 2020

Fantastic B&B

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at Glendon in October – lovely break from start to finish. Great to be welcomed with tea and homemade cake in the guest lounge. Bedroom and bathroom were very well appointed with some lovely touches – fresh milk in the fridge and nice toiletries in the en-suite. My husband really appreciated the complimentary sherry and port in the guest lounge – another nice touch. Breakfast each morning was fab – great choice and all freshly prepared. Waitress was lovely and it was nice that Damien and Adrian remembered personal details about their guests – like where we had been the day before and what we had said we were going to do that day. We bought reduced price tickets to Chatsworth from them and they also provided a ticket for free parking at Chatsworth!
It is the little touches and attention to detail that made this the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Would most definitely go back and would recommend 100%.
Well done Damien and Adrian – you deserve to make a great success of your business.

Karen
October 2019

Home from home in Matlock

We have just returned from yet another wonderful break at Glendon House. Damien and Adrian’s hostelry is second to none, from the warm welcome of coffee and cake on arrival, to the mouth watering breakfast every morning! Glendon is a beautiful house, set in a quiet location yet only a ten minute walk through a lovely park, to the town centre.
We had a very comfortable room which had a quiet fridge filled with fresh milk every day, also the usual tea/coffee tray. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfy.
There is a beautiful lounge, filled with books and games, there is even a tray offering a complimentary drink of either sherry or port!
Damien and Adrian are always on hand to help with any queries, all in all, a truly wonderful place to stay. This is the first place we would give ten out ten for hospitality and we look forward to our next visit.
Carol and Wilf

Carol and Wilf
September 2019

An excellent place to stay

Glendon Guest House is an excellent place to stay. Our room was very comfortable. The owner and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
As well as the English Breakfast, there were also a number of other cooked options available.
It was useful having a mini-fridge and this was kept supplied with fresh milk.
Being located in the centre of Matlock meant that there were a number of restaurants nearby. Also, that various bus routes could be used instead of having to go everywhere by car.

Geoff & Sandra
September 2019

A lovely, well run Guest House

This is a fabulous place to stay. From the moment we arrived (to a warm welcome with tea and cake) until the moment we left we felt so welcome and impressed by simply everything. The attention to detail and the high standard of service together with the house itself and its ideal location made for a wonderful stay. Thanks to all and a pat for Jasper.

Janet
September 2019

Exceeded our expectations

Having stayed in Derwent House four years ago to celebrate our Golden Wedding with family and friends we thought Glendon guest house would also be rather special, but in fact it proved to be even better than we had hoped. It was lovely to meet Damien and Adrian again, and they provided flawless, friendly hospitality. Our room had everything we needed, and we hadn’t enough time to try all the delicious breakfasts! If there was a 6 star category, we would award that.

Tony and Christine
August 2019

Fabulous B & B

A lovely stay at Glendon. Well looked after by warm and friendly hosts. Great bedroom with very comfortable bed and lovely touches eg fresh milk, silent fridge, quality products. Loved the decor of the room.
Fab breakfast with several choices of cooked food. All beautifully presented with generous portions. Plus choice of fruit and cereals. Delicious. Would thoroughly recommend!

Yoma
July 2019

One of the very best

We had a wonderful stay, the house itself was stunning and there were so many brilliant little touches that made it all extra special, from the superb books for children in the family room to the range of books and games in the guest sitting room. Everyone we met was friendly, thoughtful and ‘went the extra mile’ for us. The setting of the house with the view over gardens and its proximity to the park and town made it a brilliant base for us. Definitely one of my favourite B and Bs ever. We really hope to return soon.

Rachel
July 2019

Chic & Gemütlich

We stayed in this calm and beautiful retreat for 2 nights after I’d attended a conference in Sheffield. A friendly welcome, great attention to detail, a tastefully furnished room with an extremely comfortable bed and little surprises such as the delicious lemon drizzle cake we found in our room when we returned from our day out at Chatsworth made our mini break truly special. Did I mention the breakfast? Best blueberry pancakes ever, an egg lover’s heaven and a cereal buffet with fresh fruit and lovely compote. Coupled with a view of the last magnolia blossoms in the beautiful garden. We hope to return one day!

Angelika
May 2019

Easter stay at Glendon

Had a very nice few days staying in the family room with my husband and two sons. We had lemon cake and tea on arrival. It was our second stay at Glendon and it was just as accommodating, clean and pleasant as we remember. Each day we were not only restocked with everything we could possibly need in our room but also left little gifts of hot cross buns. Easter chocolate rabbits were left at the breakfast table for us Easter Sunday. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to perfection. Everything was perfect in a perfect location with a nice park across the road and the red Lion pub not far away that does an excellent carvery. The rooms are a good size with a separate room for the children that even had a selection of toys to play with.

Diana
April 19

Excellent

What a marvellous place to stay. Everything is thought of. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and breakfast was made all the better with the great Yvonne serving! Coming again next year.

Helen
March 2019

A Poetic Review

If Derbyshire is your next vacation,
Let me suggest at that destination,
You stay in Matlock, where the river bends,
A town that’s, so just full of friends,
You’ll need a pillow for your head,
and a really cosy comfy bed.
From scrambled eggs and lots of toast,
A place to stay that is the most,
You’ll need a venue that you can depend on,
You’ll do no better than the Glendon.

A recent guest

Lots of lovely touches

Just to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glendon. The room was lovely- very comfortable and spotless. The breakfasts were delicious- spoilt for choice. Lots of lovely touches- flapjacks on arrival, wide range of walking books and maps for ideas of where to go. It’s a beautiful house and we’d heartily recommend it. Very quiet, despite being so close to the town centre, lovely views out of the window of our room and the dining room. All-in-all a very relaxing break. Many thanks.

Mel
Feb 2019

Perfection!

Boutique b&b that thoughtfully accommodated a family with a 6 month old baby. The period house has been tastefully restored with lovely furnishings and accessories. The four poster room was lovely with a period fireplace. The host couldn’t have done more to accommodate us and the breakfast was delicious.

Katya
November 2018

Marvellous

Comfortable attractive rooms with everything you need… delicious and varied options for breakfast using the best ingredients… the use of a delightful sitting room – a real bonus if traveling with children… fabulous location – no real need for a car: good walks straight out of the door, plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants and 5 minutes walk from the station… great hosts, a warm reception … and to top it all off: Jasper the dog. Thanks Glendon for a marvellous break.

Lucy
October 2018

Complete satisfaction

A warm welcome to a charming Grade 2 house where no detail has been overlooked to provide total comfort. As for the breakfast, it was superb.

stuart
October 2018

Excellent room

Lovely house, excellent room. lots of recommendations ie: where to eat and which local villages to visit. Matlock is a very nice town.

ALISON & TONY
OCTOBER 2018

Top drawer!

Our intrepid 4 lads walking group descended on Matlock this year – 2 of us stayed in Glendon and the owners kindly helped us out by recommending somewhere else just as nice (well almost as nice) for the other 2 since Glendon was full.

What a find! Can only confirm what has been said before by other people about the fantastic breakfasts, lovely & spotless rooms, lemon cake and the sherry & port experience. Such a relaxing and pleasant stay made even better by the hosts.

If you stay in Matlock then highly recommend the Maazi Indian (10% discount cards from Glendon) and the Viva Italian.

If we’re ever in Matlock again then we’ll be staying here for sure. Thanks again to Adrian and Damien.

Simon T.
Sep 2018

1st class b&b

Superb accommodation well run by Adrian and Damien. Good breakfast, great location for the dales highly recommend a visit, they are well informed about local attractions, this is a wonderful Victorian house we a lot of original features ie high ceilings ornate coving etc. Would definitely use again if in the area steve &sheila

steve and sheila
sept 2018

Perfect stay

Me & my husband stayed at Glendon for 2 nights, such a beautiful house not a spec of dust anywhere, there was a lot of thought gone into making your stay more welcoming & comfortable, so much choice on the breakfast menu and overall was made to feel very welcome, will definitely be going back.
Sue& Steve West Midlands

Sue and Steve
September 2018

A Wonderful Golden Wedding celebration

We booked Glendon House early 2016 for our Golden Wedding. We had all the bedrooms for our family. It’s a wonderful place to stay. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the mattresses and pillows were sumptuous. The breakfasts were amazing, the blueberry pancakes were a favourite with our grandchildren and the adults. A very wide breakfast choice to suit all. It’s well appointed with all restaurants within walking distance. Came back to a very comfortable sitting room with complementary port or sherry. The hosts make it worth far more than the 5 star rating. The best B&B we have ever stayed in.
Thank you for making it so special for us and the whole family. Jean and John

Jean and John
August 2018

Perfect weekend

An absolutely wonderful place to stay, lovingly transformed back to former glories …situated on the edge of Matlock town, a two minute stroll to a wonderful park , a delight for young and old …have not been to a better b&b, fab rooms, wonderful cooked breakfasts to order, in a delightful dining room, and the sitting room on the 1st floor a real gem – will keep on returning
Thanks all at Glendon, had a wonderful stay !

Talbot
August 2018

The Best Place to Stay

Thank you Adrian and Damien for another wonderful stay in your beautiful B&B. This was our 9th visit and it was as lovely as ever. All the individual touches of coffee and lemon drizzle cake in your homely lounge on arrival after a long journey is very much appreciated.
The immaculate way in which this fabulous B&B is decorated and always clean, light and airy and still looking as fresh as it was on our first visit. The bedrooms have comfy bed, the toiletries and extras in the bathroom give it a very personal touch. Breakfasts are to die for with a fabulous selection of hot and cold choices something for everyone’s needs. The way you look after your guests making them feel extra special is a bonus and this isn’t found elsewhere, of this we are very appreciative.
This is my piece of heaven and hopefully will be back for stay number 10

Sheila
June 2018

Wonderful tranquil stay

Our Host was very welcoming and knowledgeable, so we were able to make the most of our brief stay. Our room was quiet, beautifully furnished and comfortable overlooking a small park. Breakfast was magnificent.
Glendon House is very conveniently placed for both walking and local restaurants.

Robert
June 2018

Excellent

Lovely house, tastefully decorated. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Excellent choices for breakfast, beautifully presented and cooked. The owners were friendly and helpful, and it was a joy to stay here. Shall definitely stay here again.

Pat
June 2018

5 stars well deserved

Really happy we chose Glendon House. Good location and parking. Room was well equipped, clean and lovely decorated. Loved all the finishing touches around the house – lovely vases of flowers everywhere. Breakfast room was fabulous and lots of choices for breakfast and all food cooked perfectly and quality.
Thank you for welcoming with coffee and cake and can definitely say the 5 stars are well deserved.

Jackie
May 2018

Perfect place to stay

Perfectly located. Our first visit to Matlock and we couldn’t have stayed in a better place. Our room was lovely and a good size. The welcome tea and cake is a nice treat after a long drive. We would definitely stay at Glendon house again. Lovely breakfast. Recommend the blueberry pancakes!

Danielle & Stewart
May 2018

Simply perfect

Our second stay in 15 months. Simply fantastic.
Rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly. Breakfast is really good. All together, i would recommend this to all my friends if they ever visit Matlock and it’s surroundings.
We will be back

Paul
May 2018

Fabulous place – great location

Fabulous place – great location with views over the park, friendly reception with tea and slab of superb cake and a super room. All the food was fabulous – leave space for the blueberry pancakes!

Christine
April 2018

Fabulous stay

This was our third stay at Glendon Guest House. The whole experience was fabulous. The house is just beautiful, the hosts are very accommodating (and entertaining) and breakfast is amazing! We shall be returning.

VW
May 2017

Another Perfect Stay.

I spend a weekend in Matlock every year with four friends I met at Matlock college. For the last four years we have stayed at the Glendon. We all find The Glendon the perfect base for our stay. The attention to detail in every area is faultless. We feel very well looked after, from the lemon drizzle cake to the lovely comfy beds. There are good eating places within walking distance and good parking belonging to the house. Each year I do not look anywhere else to stay because The Glendon is so comfortable and friendly and every need is catered for before we need to ask.

Di
May 2017

Fabulous once again

This was our 6th visit to this beautiful house. We were meet by Damien who provided us with fresh cream scones and jam and as it was my birthday they had left me an orchid plant in the room how thoughtful was that. We know when we visit Glendon House it us like home from home the bedroom we were in was recently decorated and once again the standard of decor excellent. If you need a place to stay in Matlock this is the only place to stay breakfasts to die for and staff always friendly we shall be back hopefully again in September. Well done Adrian and Damien for the high standards at Glendon House

SB
February 2017

Fantastic stay from start to finish

We stayed in a beautiful double room with decor in line with what you’d expect from a boutique hotel. There was another room attached and only accessible from the main room. This had a double bunk bed and two boxes of toys for our children to play with, who are 1 and 4. There was also enough room to fit our travel cot for our youngest.

The mini-bar was stocked with a few treats all at prices you would find in a supermarket. There were also lots of drinks to choose from at the free tea and coffee station along with some yummy biscuits.

The staff were so helpful and carried our heavy luggage up the stairs. They were always willing to help with any questions/requests we had. We received customer service at its best! We would have happily stayed longer and were pretty sad to leave. We hope to go back again in the near future.”

A Family

Like a 5 star boutique hotel

We were warmly welcomed by the host ,Adrian with a pot of tea and delicious homemade lemon drizzle cake ! Our ‘family room’ was perfect, tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. We were so impressed with the guesthouse we asked if we could stay another night but they were fully booked for the rest of the week , not surprising really for accommodation of this quality.

RL
November 2016

Fantastic place to stay

This is a place we have stayed many times. It is beautifully maintained guest house with great attention to detail. The owners are very pleasant and work hard to ensure your stay is perfect. It’s well worth the money which I feel is excellent value for money. There are lots to do in Matlock to keep you busy. Will return again very soon. Thanks for a fantastic few days.

PR
October 2016

Fantastic B&B

We stayed for a short weekend away in the 4 poster room, we went on a recommendation and we have now recommended to our family and friends! The breakfast is absolutely brilliant, I couldn’t fault anything about our stay, hoping to return soon – thanks for a lovely break.

TW
October 2016

What a find!

Just returned from a lovely one night stay at Glendon House, what a find! Super warm welcome from Damien. The lounge for guests to use is beautiful and within 5 min of arrival were asked if we would like tea and cake. A very nice touch. Our room No (1)the four poster is so nice with a lovely view of the church a little bridge and a babbling brook, so very restful. This boutique B&B came recommended by friends and everything they told us was true…highly recommend a stay here. Like us, you will return…can’t wait!! Thank you Adrian and Damien, brill stay!

S & B
September 2016

Excellent guest house

Our first visit to Derbyshire and spent some time researching accommodation, luckily we got it right choosing Glendon Guest House. The rooms are all beautifully decorated. We were welcomed with coffee and delicious date and walnut cake which must have been homemade . The room was comfortable, good quality furnishings and nice large shower. Breakfasts served on crisp white linen tablecloths with selection of cereals, fresh fruit, English breakfast etc. We arrived by train, a short easy walk away and used local buses to visit Bakewell and Buxton enjoying the views on the way. Should mention everything spotlessly clean in the guest house.

Anne M.
September 2016

Glendon

Great house, great welcome, great recommendations, great part of the world and the wonderful Jasper. We spent 6 nights at Glendon and used it as a base for exploring the Derwent Valley. Haddon Hall and Chatsworth House are on the door steep as well as the Derwent Valley Mills a World Heritage site which we would highly recommend.

moirebra
September 2016

Last minute booking

We were booked elsewhere for 3 nights but after the first night we did not want to return and was not happy with the accommodation or staff. So we used trip advisor to find this charming guest house and it was perfect. The room was very comfortable and we would say 5 star quality also the breakfast was excellent. Staff also very friendly. We walked a short distance to parks, gardens and more than enough things to do . Also shops, bars and restaurants very close. We are recommending this venue to all our customers as we own a post office/newsagents in Charlesworth and we had lovely break.

Dori
Dori

Perfect location, perfect amenities, prefect hosts – what more can I say?

Having had a wonderful Christmas stay with family next door at Derwent House, we decided to stay, as a couple this time, at the B&B in Glendon House. What a delight it is. The rooms are beautifully clean and lavishly decorated in sympathy with the style of house. All we could need was provided (including ear plugs so I wondered if someone had been talking about my husband!) and the view from our room at the front of the house up to the church is quintessentially English. The choice at breakfast is exceptional and a great start to the day – whatever you have planned.
This is a tranquil oasis in central Matlock with good restaurants close by. We are returning with a group of friends in September and I have no doubts that they will all be as impressed as we are.

Jane R
August 2016

Great stay in a beautiful property

We were well looked after in this beautiful house in a great location. The room was excellent and the breakfast set you up to face the world! Our dog Millie was also well catered for. We would strongly recommend this B&B.

GarfieldOK
August 2016

Classy and Personal

You’ll love this place as it just oozes class, friendliness and particular attention to detail. From the spacious car park on arrival, to a warm welcome from the likeable owners and the offer of a cup of tea or coffee to settle you in. The rooms are very nicely decorated and homely, with a complimentary fridge which houses a little bottle of milk for you to have with your tea or coffee instead of using the yucky UHT pods.
Breakfast is outstanding and the ingredients are all of excellent quality, and service is definitely with a smile.
I think you’ll find it very hard to find anywhere that matches the sheer class of this quality residence, along with the personal touches that makes your stay that bit more special. I won’t spoil it, but there was a very nice surprise waiting for us when we returned to our room on the second night!

Jaysterslippers
August 2016

Wonderful hotel

What a delight it was to stay in this wonderful hotel where the owners could not do enough for you from your time of arrival to you time of departure. We were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and a delicious piece of cake on our arrival. The room was beautifully decorated and the attention to details was second to none. The breakfast was superb and so was the decor all around us. It was our first time in this hotel but it won’t be the last! The owners are so friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Wonderful stay in a wonderful setting! Thank you.

Claude M
August 2016

Weekend treat!

Booked this as a birthday treat having been here a few times before ..glad to say everything was as fantastic as ever , greeted with a fresh pot of tea and lemon cake after a long journey , just the job . Beautiful & clean , superb breakfasts , cant really eulogise enough about this wonderful guest house .
Thanks to all at Glendon for a fab weekend !

Todd B
August 2016

Another perfect stay

This was our third stay at Glendon, again staying in the family room which we have never been able to better. The welcome was friendly as always, and the home made cake delicious! Our 4 year old daughter was catered for particularly well at breakfast with ‘children’s ‘ cutlery, and she especially loved the blueberry pancakes. We visited Chatsworth House, only a short car journey away, and were able to buy our tickets at Glendon thus saving us both time and money. A restful nights sleep in an exceptionally comfortable bed; our daughter loved the bunk bed and selection of toys/books provided. We will be back!

Sarah D
August 2016

Surprise short break

Short midweek break with my wife and a couple of friends.
Booked on recommendation from some other friends who had stayed a few times before and was not disappointed.
Sufficient parking and a short walk through the park to the busy town centre. Italian and Indian restaurants recommended.
High quality establishment, very nice clean rooms, comfortable beds and high quality fittings throughout.
Varied and quality breakfast with nothing too much trouble.
Adrian and Damian, hosts and owners couldn’t have been more helpful.
We have never been to Matlock before so we cant compare the Glendon to others, but after the delightful experience we had – why would you want to!!

Kevin S
August 2016

Review

Had a two night weekend stay here with our friends at the beginning of August. We were welcomed when checking in with tea/coffee and a slice of beautiful home made lemon drizzle cake and shown to our room (no 3) with a four poster bed and lovely views of the church and it’s grounds. Lots of choice for breakfast but went for the full English which was nicely cooked with quality local ingredients. Hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful with an extensive knowledge of the local area. Will not hesitate to stay here again when back down in the Matlock area.

Andy S

Wow!

Where do you start with somewhere like the Glendon.From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left everything was perfect. Adrian greeted our arrival with an offer of tea and cake.Nothing was too much trouble. The little touches in the room,silent mini fridge,chocolates wine glasses….no drinking from the tooth mug here ….Oh and fresh milk.Everywhere is spotlessly clean,tastefully decorated and feels like a home from home.The breakfast set us up for the day, wish I could cook poached eggs like that.Thankyou to Yvonne for her smile in the morning and for her memory for what we liked.We will be back and hope it wont be too long before we visit again.Thank you

RuthiebabeHeacham
June 2016

Could not find fault

We stayed for two nights at the Glendon Guest House and were very pleased with the guest house itself (rooms and facilities, etc) and also with the friendly service provided by the proprietors.
This is a thoroughly clean and comfortable place to stay with good parking and within a short walk of the town centre. We are happy to recommend this lovely…

Plaskitts
June 2016

Fabulous Bed and breakfast – Highly recommended

I stayed here for one night to watch a football match and from my arrival to departure, felt that nothing was too much trouble for Adrian. I was given an incredibly friendly welcome and the whole hotel was impeccably clean and stylishly furnished and decorated. My room was large and comfortable and fabulous value for money. Location wise, it’s 2 minutes from the centre of Matlock and probably 7 minutes walk to the station if you cut across the park. My breakfast was fantastic – freshly cooked and high quality food. I have stayed in and around Matlock several times because i often work there and this would definitely be the my first choice place to stay.

Mikey
July 2016

Did you enjoy your stay?

Why not leave us a Google Review (you will need to have a Google account).

Review form for the website

Strong Testimonials form submission spinner.

Required

rating fields

“Warm friendly welcome. Impeccable B&B throughout”

TripAdvisor Review

Our news and articles

 

Walking and Exploring Derbyshire

Walking and Exploring Derbyshire

Leave the car and explore. Many of our guests staying at Glendon, like to spend a day or two, out and about without their car. As well as great scenery, this is made all the easier by some great public transport links. Here is one of our suggestions for a great day out.

Peak District bus tour

Peak District bus tour

Go car-free and explore the Peak District by open-top bus. A day ticket for the tour will cost £6 per person, with a discounted group ticket available for £15 for up to 5 people. Find out more.

See the sites of Derbyshire and the peak district by bus

See the sites of Derbyshire and the peak district by bus

See the sights of Derbyshire and the Peak District in the Spring by bus for only £2 per single trip. The next few weeks offer a great opportunity to explore Derbyshire and the Peak District and save money whilst travelling in an environmental way.