"Beautiful B&B with great attention to detail"

TripAdvisor Review

Glendon Bed and Breakfast reviews

Blue scroll

Take a look at our reviews from previous guests from Google, Tripadvisor and emails . If you have already stayed with us, we would love to hear from you about your time at Glendon. To leave a review please either click on the Google button if you have a Google account, or complete the form below.

Google Reviews

    5 star review  Superbly clean and comfortable room with lovely view of the church. Adjoining room for the children. Tasty breakfasts, the blueberry pancakes were awesome. Damien very welcoming and helpful and very organised in relation to COVID procedures and making us feel safe. Will definitely visit again.

    thumb Debbie Lloyd-Smith
    8/03/2020

    5 star review  We spent two happy nights here. Every attention was given to keeping us safe. Outstanding room, bathroom and perfect breakfast. Great hosts. Great location. Highly recommended. Do try the walk up to Riber Castle. Thank you. Stephen and Jude

    thumb Stephen S
    7/27/2020

    5 star review  This was our first trip away from home following the Covid19 lockdown- it had to be the Glendon. It was the usual high standard, but with subtle, unobtrusive changes which made us feel safe. We know that Adrian and Damien take the situation seriously but still want you to feel welcome- and we really did. Lovely room, delicious breakfast, lovely surroundings. Adrian and Damien made us welcome as did Matlock. Miller's and The Red Lion also took care at the same time as welcoming us. Thank you for a few days of "normal".

    thumb Safeena Tonks
    7/15/2020

    5 star review  A fabulous 2 night stay at Glendon once again, this is just the best guest house, with attention to detail and wonderful hosts! Amazing breakfast and a great location! Spotlessly clean, a real gem!

    thumb Karen S
    7/15/2020

    5 star review  One of the best if not the best guest house I have stayed in rooms were spotlessly clean, location was brilliant, and the owner went the extra mile to make sure everything was ok, booked again for later in the year and the lemon drizzle cake was to die for and a lovely touch

    thumb Father daughter And son
    2/24/2020

    5 star review  This is such a lovely place to stay - definitely one of the best guest houses I’ve ever had the pleasure of visiting. My room was gorgeous and had all the essentials, plus lots of added extras. Having a decent sized fridge in there was a great touch! And I loved my evenings sitting in the guest lounge with a glass of complementary port! Breakfast was delicious and Damien and Adrian are so lovely, their attention to detail and friendly service is what makes this place so special. I stayed here as I was attending a local course, but I’m already planning to come back for a leisure stay with my husband to show him how wonderful this place is.

    thumb Pamela H
    12/08/2019

    5 star review  We initially were led to this establishment as it has an electric car charging point (free to use) but Glendon House proved to be a real find for us. The room was both stylish and very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. For example, we were welcomed with a pot of green tea and most delicious cake and lovely gluten free alternative. In fact we will officially award them the best gluten-free breakfast ever, in our opinion!

    thumb Ant Barraclough
    10/17/2019

    5 star review  I took my Thai wife (here for 3 months) to the Illuminations at Matlock Bath and they were a total let down in my opinion, however this guest house made up for our disappointment. The greeting we were given was extremely friendly, the room was absolutely stunning and the breakfast was PERFECT!!! We would highly recommend this guest house and would not hesitate in giving this a 10 out of 10. Thank you for making our visit to Matlock a memorable one. Matlock 1 Matlock Bath 0 Brett Simpson

    thumb A Google User
    10/08/2019

    5 star review  We could not have wished for better - absolutely faultless. Our hosts were incredibly attentive and covered every detail. The room was very clean and just what we wanted for our honeymoon stay. The breakfast was Michelin Star standard with excellent service. We will be visiting again. Roger and Lorraine

    thumb Roger Owen
    10/04/2019

    5 star review  This was my third visit at Glendon & I came here with my Daughter for two nights. I told her how good the place was & she was in total agreement with me! Everything is spotless, the breakfast was beautifully cooked. The hosts are always extremely polite & friendly & nothing is too much trouble & the house is gorgeous. I have stayed at many hotels & guest houses from Cornwall to Scotland & Glendon is the best one I have stayed at!

    thumb Chris Speed
    9/09/2019

    5 star review  This lived up to our expectations as we had read excellent reviews before booking and we were not disappointed. Very easy to find in a good location overlooking a park. The property has been tastefully refurbished and the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The tea at 4 with lemon drizzle cake was a welcoming touch. The owners were very attentive and helpful at all times and the breakfast options were varied and beautifully prepared. We would definitely return if we visit Matlock again. Thank you

    thumb Anne-Marie Loraine
    8/17/2019

Reviews sent via email

First class weekend stay

This was our second visit to Glendon. We love the house and Damien and Adrian are brilliant hosts. Nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. Overall this is a great place to stay and we recommend it without hesitation

Jan
Oct 20

A fantastic stay

This was our first visit to the Glendon and it will not be our last. We were made to feel safe and welcome from the moment we arrived by Damien. The Covid measures made us feel safe but did not in anyway spoil our stay. We felt very safe and cared for. The attention to detail was wonderful.
The standard of our room was excellent and breakfast was very very special. We spent an enjoyable day at Chatsworth and Damien provided us with lots of helpful information to make our day even better.

Gill Davis
Oct 2020

Fantastic stay

We had a fantastic stay at Glendon. The room was lovely and clean. Adrian and Damien went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, suggesting walking routes and places to visit. The breakfast was sensational! We will definitely be staying again and I highly recommend to all visiting the Peak District.

Robyn
October 2020

Gorgeous

Fabulous guesthouse. Beautifully decorated. Literally situated next to the beautiful gardens of the park. Short walk into the town. Breakfast was excellent. All local produce.!! Thank you for a much needed break. See you again!!!

Susan R
October 2020

Fantastic stay

Had the most lovely three night stay at Glendon. Room was beautiful and spotless and the breakfast was delicious. All the hygiene and Covid measures in place made us feel very safe. The location is perfect for a relaxing stay with easy walking distance to restaurants. The best thing about our visit was how much effort our lovely hosts went to to make us feel welcome and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. Happy to recommend and hope to stay again.

Alison
September 2020

Perfect

Everything was perfect; beautiful room and bathroom, delicious breakfast, every precaution against covid19 taken. We even saw a nuthatch on the bird feeder!

Jean & David
September 2020

Excellent

The accommodation came to us highly recommended by friends who had stayed previously. We were pleased to find they had not exaggerated, the establishment was well maintained, the cleanliness of a high standard and the staff most courteous. Set in Matlock the accommodation is well positioned for peak district touring and the sites on offer . Cannot fault the attention to detail and would not hesitate to recommend to future guests.
The breakfast is a treat and the welcome always warm. Highly recommended again !!

Rupert
September 2020

Exceptional Service

After being let down by another property at the very last minute, Adrian went out of his way to accommodate our friends as we had booked them a night away for a special celebration and it looked like being cancelled. Our friends said the b & b was beautiful, hospitality great and breakfast was lovely. I cannot thank the Glendon enough for the efforts they made. We will all definitely be booking again.

Donna
September 2020

ANOTHER FIRST CLASS STAY

Having stayed at The Glendon on a number of occasions, we had no hesitation in booking again knowing that the Covid19 restrictions would be more than adequately dealt with. Everything felt safe and as usual spotlessly clean. Thank you Adrian and Damien for all y our hard work in ensuring guests are kept safe.

Michael
August 2020

A truly relaxing experience

Had the most amazingly relaxing stay at Glendon. Accommodation spotless and hosts welcoming. All social distancing and enhanced cleaning rules observed, which made me feel safe . The beds were the most comfortable ever and breakfast was amazing. Can’t fault this BnB they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and special. Unfortunately, my stay was all too short however, felt totally replenished. Recommend without reservation.

Wendy
20th August 2020

Simply brilliant

This was our second stay at Glendon and it was an absolute pleasure to stay here Adrian and Damian can’t do enough for you. It’s a great base to stay at to explore the Peak District. I would say this is the best guest house we have ever stayed at

Duncan Pearson
August 2020

Perfect as always

Just come back from a 3 night stay and, as the heading says, perfect as always. We keep coming back. You are made to feel so welcome every time. The place was immaculate, no change there, and with the current situation we felt very safe too. The breakfasts are fantastic, the best scrambled eggs by far. We’ve stayed in a few places in matlock but the glendon is the best. See you soon

Sharon
August 2020

excellent bed and breakfast . Hosts always very helpful.

My husband and I have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Glendon Guest House. We always enjoy our visits. It is convenient to Matlock. all rooms ( bedrooms, Guest lounge, and breakfast) are excellent. The breakfast choices are suitable for everyone, with food from local suppliers, including flour from local mills. Why not try a visit especially during this difficult time with Covid 19. It is an ideal place to relax in and be pampered. nothing is too much trouble for the owners.
We hope to return later this year. Christine & Keith

Christine
August 2020

Superb

Simply excellent. Glendon is the most delightful place to stay. Helpful hosts, beautiful (and immaculate) rooms, delicious breakfasts. I will return.

Lindsay
August 2020

Faultless hospitality

This is such a special place that part of me doesn’t want to be too complimentary in case next time we want to visit they are fully booked! However that really wouldn’t be fair so take it from me that you will in no way be disappointed. Glendon House hospitality is second to none and, even with Covid restrictions, our stay was perfect. The beautiful house, our obliging hosts and the amazing breakfast coupled with the very convenient location should meet the expectations of any guest. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Ivor and Jane
August 5 2020

Brilliant

As all the other reviews have said the uniqueness of this B&B is the attention to detail and the real desire of the owners to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Nothing was too much trouble even down to recommending some great walks for us. Delicious breakfasts. We were very impressed with how well they had thought through the necessary safety measures regarding the covid – 19 issues. A very nice, reasonably priced, stay. We hope to return.

Roger

Fab short break

After a 3 month lockdown , it was so good to be back at the Glendon, can’t speak highly enough of the place …a spotless welcoming b&b, with extra care & attention to detail for these strange times, but at the same time feeling ‘normal’. Fab breakfasts as usual, and just an out & out brilliant stay
Thankyou all very much !

Neil t
3/8/20

Wonderful

Another perfect 2 night stay! Hospitality is second to none with coffee and cake on arrival, and in the morning a yummy breakfast to set us up for the day. Our 8 year old daughter is a big fan of the blueberry pancakes! Comfortable ensuite family room which was spotlessly clean. Bunk beds a big hit with our daughter as ever.
We will be back next year! Thank you Adrian & Damien

Sarah
July 2020

Our first break in 2020

It was great to be able to get away and we couldn’t imagine anywhere better to stay than a return to Glendon. A lot of work has been done to ensure a covid safe stay without making us feel uncomfortable. Adrian, Damien and the team provide a fantastic environment to relax and unwind, thank you.

Caroline
July 2020

Excellent as always

This was our third stay at Glendon House, and did not disappoint. We were made very welcome from the outset, and, although some changes had to be made due to COVID-19 they were hardly noticeable. The rooms were very comfortable & clean, and the service impeccable. Adrian and Damien do a fantastic job. The breakfast is varied and delicious. Would highly recommend.

Pat
July 2020

First class!

This was my second visit to Glendon. I was so pleased to see it open again after lockdown. The owners have taken every care to ensure that their guests are looked after safely. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are superb and there is space to relax. The attention to detail is very marked, for example, there is a fridge in the bedroom with a ‘proper’ bottle of milk to go with the coffee and the wide range of teas. A friend came to meet me, we sat in the garden and were offered a lovely pot of tea plus a slice of cake each. Highly recommended.

Susan
July 2020

Beautiful Guest House in the Peaks

I took my wife to Matlock for a surprise Valentine evening meal and I’d booked for us to stay at the Glendon Guest House for the night. What a beautiful house, immaculately clean, with nothing out of place and a 2 minute walk to the town. Adrian gave us a warm welcome on arrival, took us to our room and helped with the luggage. We had Room 1 with a four-poster bed overlooking the park. Everything was sumptuous and there was nice touch of a chocolate heart lain on the bed awaiting our arrival. For me it’s the little things that count – Adrian and Damien had paid attention to all of those in abundance. Breakfast was gorgeous – everything you could want for breakfast was available and there for us to choose from. All in all a really relaxing, pleasant stay. We will be back. Thanks.

February Guest
February 2020

Fantastic B&B

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at Glendon in October – lovely break from start to finish. Great to be welcomed with tea and homemade cake in the guest lounge. Bedroom and bathroom were very well appointed with some lovely touches – fresh milk in the fridge and nice toiletries in the en-suite. My husband really appreciated the complimentary sherry and port in the guest lounge – another nice touch. Breakfast each morning was fab – great choice and all freshly prepared. Waitress was lovely and it was nice that Damien and Adrian remembered personal details about their guests – like where we had been the day before and what we had said we were going to do that day. We bought reduced price tickets to Chatsworth from them and they also provided a ticket for free parking at Chatsworth!
It is the little touches and attention to detail that made this the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Would most definitely go back and would recommend 100%.
Well done Damien and Adrian – you deserve to make a great success of your business.

Karen
October 2019

Home from home in Matlock

We have just returned from yet another wonderful break at Glendon House. Damien and Adrian’s hostelry is second to none, from the warm welcome of coffee and cake on arrival, to the mouth watering breakfast every morning! Glendon is a beautiful house, set in a quiet location yet only a ten minute walk through a lovely park, to the town centre.
We had a very comfortable room which had a quiet fridge filled with fresh milk every day, also the usual tea/coffee tray. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfy.
There is a beautiful lounge, filled with books and games, there is even a tray offering a complimentary drink of either sherry or port!
Damien and Adrian are always on hand to help with any queries, all in all, a truly wonderful place to stay. This is the first place we would give ten out ten for hospitality and we look forward to our next visit.
Carol and Wilf

Carol and Wilf
September 2019

An excellent place to stay

Glendon Guest House is an excellent place to stay. Our room was very comfortable. The owner and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
As well as the English Breakfast, there were also a number of other cooked options available.
It was useful having a mini-fridge and this was kept supplied with fresh milk.
Being located in the centre of Matlock meant that there were a number of restaurants nearby. Also, that various bus routes could be used instead of having to go everywhere by car.

Geoff & Sandra
September 2019

A lovely, well run Guest House

This is a fabulous place to stay. From the moment we arrived (to a warm welcome with tea and cake) until the moment we left we felt so welcome and impressed by simply everything. The attention to detail and the high standard of service together with the house itself and its ideal location made for a wonderful stay. Thanks to all and a pat for Jasper.

Janet
September 2019

Exceeded our expectations

Having stayed in Derwent House four years ago to celebrate our Golden Wedding with family and friends we thought Glendon guest house would also be rather special, but in fact it proved to be even better than we had hoped. It was lovely to meet Damien and Adrian again, and they provided flawless, friendly hospitality. Our room had everything we needed, and we hadn’t enough time to try all the delicious breakfasts! If there was a 6 star category, we would award that.

Tony and Christine
August 2019

Fabulous B & B

A lovely stay at Glendon. Well looked after by warm and friendly hosts. Great bedroom with very comfortable bed and lovely touches eg fresh milk, silent fridge, quality products. Loved the decor of the room.
Fab breakfast with several choices of cooked food. All beautifully presented with generous portions. Plus choice of fruit and cereals. Delicious. Would thoroughly recommend!

Yoma
July 2019

One of the very best

We had a wonderful stay, the house itself was stunning and there were so many brilliant little touches that made it all extra special, from the superb books for children in the family room to the range of books and games in the guest sitting room. Everyone we met was friendly, thoughtful and ‘went the extra mile’ for us. The setting of the house with the view over gardens and its proximity to the park and town made it a brilliant base for us. Definitely one of my favourite B and Bs ever. We really hope to return soon.

Rachel
July 2019

Chic & Gemütlich

We stayed in this calm and beautiful retreat for 2 nights after I’d attended a conference in Sheffield. A friendly welcome, great attention to detail, a tastefully furnished room with an extremely comfortable bed and little surprises such as the delicious lemon drizzle cake we found in our room when we returned from our day out at Chatsworth made our mini break truly special. Did I mention the breakfast? Best blueberry pancakes ever, an egg lover’s heaven and a cereal buffet with fresh fruit and lovely compote. Coupled with a view of the last magnolia blossoms in the beautiful garden. We hope to return one day!

Angelika
May 2019

Easter stay at Glendon

Had a very nice few days staying in the family room with my husband and two sons. We had lemon cake and tea on arrival. It was our second stay at Glendon and it was just as accommodating, clean and pleasant as we remember. Each day we were not only restocked with everything we could possibly need in our room but also left little gifts of hot cross buns. Easter chocolate rabbits were left at the breakfast table for us Easter Sunday. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to perfection. Everything was perfect in a perfect location with a nice park across the road and the red Lion pub not far away that does an excellent carvery. The rooms are a good size with a separate room for the children that even had a selection of toys to play with.

Diana
April 19

Excellent

What a marvellous place to stay. Everything is thought of. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and breakfast was made all the better with the great Yvonne serving! Coming again next year.

Helen
March 2019

A Poetic Review

If Derbyshire is your next vacation,
Let me suggest at that destination,
You stay in Matlock, where the river bends,
A town that’s, so just full of friends,
You’ll need a pillow for your head,
and a really cosy comfy bed.
From scrambled eggs and lots of toast,
A place to stay that is the most,
You’ll need a venue that you can depend on,
You’ll do no better than the Glendon.

A recent guest

Lots of lovely touches

Just to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glendon. The room was lovely- very comfortable and spotless. The breakfasts were delicious- spoilt for choice. Lots of lovely touches- flapjacks on arrival, wide range of walking books and maps for ideas of where to go. It’s a beautiful house and we’d heartily recommend it. Very quiet, despite being so close to the town centre, lovely views out of the window of our room and the dining room. All-in-all a very relaxing break. Many thanks.

Mel
Feb 2019

Perfection!

Boutique b&b that thoughtfully accommodated a family with a 6 month old baby. The period house has been tastefully restored with lovely furnishings and accessories. The four poster room was lovely with a period fireplace. The host couldn’t have done more to accommodate us and the breakfast was delicious.

Katya
November 2018

Marvellous

Comfortable attractive rooms with everything you need… delicious and varied options for breakfast using the best ingredients… the use of a delightful sitting room – a real bonus if traveling with children… fabulous location – no real need for a car: good walks straight out of the door, plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants and 5 minutes walk from the station… great hosts, a warm reception … and to top it all off: Jasper the dog. Thanks Glendon for a marvellous break.

Lucy
October 2018

Complete satisfaction

A warm welcome to a charming Grade 2 house where no detail has been overlooked to provide total comfort. As for the breakfast, it was superb.

stuart
October 2018

Excellent room

Lovely house, excellent room. lots of recommendations ie: where to eat and which local villages to visit. Matlock is a very nice town.

ALISON & TONY
OCTOBER 2018

Top drawer!

Our intrepid 4 lads walking group descended on Matlock this year – 2 of us stayed in Glendon and the owners kindly helped us out by recommending somewhere else just as nice (well almost as nice) for the other 2 since Glendon was full.

What a find! Can only confirm what has been said before by other people about the fantastic breakfasts, lovely & spotless rooms, lemon cake and the sherry & port experience. Such a relaxing and pleasant stay made even better by the hosts.

If you stay in Matlock then highly recommend the Maazi Indian (10% discount cards from Glendon) and the Viva Italian.

If we’re ever in Matlock again then we’ll be staying here for sure. Thanks again to Adrian and Damien.

Simon T.
Sep 2018

1st class b&b

Superb accommodation well run by Adrian and Damien. Good breakfast, great location for the dales highly recommend a visit, they are well informed about local attractions, this is a wonderful Victorian house we a lot of original features ie high ceilings ornate coving etc. Would definitely use again if in the area steve &sheila

steve and sheila
sept 2018

Perfect stay

Me & my husband stayed at Glendon for 2 nights, such a beautiful house not a spec of dust anywhere, there was a lot of thought gone into making your stay more welcoming & comfortable, so much choice on the breakfast menu and overall was made to feel very welcome, will definitely be going back.
Sue& Steve West Midlands

Sue and Steve
September 2018

A Wonderful Golden Wedding celebration

We booked Glendon House early 2016 for our Golden Wedding. We had all the bedrooms for our family. It’s a wonderful place to stay. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the mattresses and pillows were sumptuous. The breakfasts were amazing, the blueberry pancakes were a favourite with our grandchildren and the adults. A very wide breakfast choice to suit all. It’s well appointed with all restaurants within walking distance. Came back to a very comfortable sitting room with complementary port or sherry. The hosts make it worth far more than the 5 star rating. The best B&B we have ever stayed in.
Thank you for making it so special for us and the whole family. Jean and John

Jean and John
August 2018

Perfect weekend

An absolutely wonderful place to stay, lovingly transformed back to former glories …situated on the edge of Matlock town, a two minute stroll to a wonderful park , a delight for young and old …have not been to a better b&b, fab rooms, wonderful cooked breakfasts to order, in a delightful dining room, and the sitting room on the 1st floor a real gem – will keep on returning
Thanks all at Glendon, had a wonderful stay !

Talbot
August 2018

The Best Place to Stay

Thank you Adrian and Damien for another wonderful stay in your beautiful B&B. This was our 9th visit and it was as lovely as ever. All the individual touches of coffee and lemon drizzle cake in your homely lounge on arrival after a long journey is very much appreciated.
The immaculate way in which this fabulous B&B is decorated and always clean, light and airy and still looking as fresh as it was on our first visit. The bedrooms have comfy bed, the toiletries and extras in the bathroom give it a very personal touch. Breakfasts are to die for with a fabulous selection of hot and cold choices something for everyone’s needs. The way you look after your guests making them feel extra special is a bonus and this isn’t found elsewhere, of this we are very appreciative.
This is my piece of heaven and hopefully will be back for stay number 10

Sheila
June 2018

Wonderful tranquil stay

Our Host was very welcoming and knowledgeable, so we were able to make the most of our brief stay. Our room was quiet, beautifully furnished and comfortable overlooking a small park. Breakfast was magnificent.
Glendon House is very conveniently placed for both walking and local restaurants.

Robert
June 2018

Excellent

Lovely house, tastefully decorated. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Excellent choices for breakfast, beautifully presented and cooked. The owners were friendly and helpful, and it was a joy to stay here. Shall definitely stay here again.

Pat
June 2018

5 stars well deserved

Really happy we chose Glendon House. Good location and parking. Room was well equipped, clean and lovely decorated. Loved all the finishing touches around the house – lovely vases of flowers everywhere. Breakfast room was fabulous and lots of choices for breakfast and all food cooked perfectly and quality.
Thank you for welcoming with coffee and cake and can definitely say the 5 stars are well deserved.

Jackie
May 2018

Perfect place to stay

Perfectly located. Our first visit to Matlock and we couldn’t have stayed in a better place. Our room was lovely and a good size. The welcome tea and cake is a nice treat after a long drive. We would definitely stay at Glendon house again. Lovely breakfast. Recommend the blueberry pancakes!

Danielle & Stewart
May 2018

Simply perfect

Our second stay in 15 months. Simply fantastic.
Rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly. Breakfast is really good. All together, i would recommend this to all my friends if they ever visit Matlock and it’s surroundings.
We will be back

Paul
May 2018

Fabulous place – great location

Fabulous place – great location with views over the park, friendly reception with tea and slab of superb cake and a super room. All the food was fabulous – leave space for the blueberry pancakes!

Christine
April 2018

Fabulous stay

This was our third stay at Glendon Guest House. The whole experience was fabulous. The house is just beautiful, the hosts are very accommodating (and entertaining) and breakfast is amazing! We shall be returning.

VW
May 2017

Another Perfect Stay.

I spend a weekend in Matlock every year with four friends I met at Matlock college. For the last four years we have stayed at the Glendon. We all find The Glendon the perfect base for our stay. The attention to detail in every area is faultless. We feel very well looked after, from the lemon drizzle cake to the lovely comfy beds. There are good eating places within walking distance and good parking belonging to the house. Each year I do not look anywhere else to stay because The Glendon is so comfortable and friendly and every need is catered for before we need to ask.

Di
May 2017

Fabulous once again

This was our 6th visit to this beautiful house. We were meet by Damien who provided us with fresh cream scones and jam and as it was my birthday they had left me an orchid plant in the room how thoughtful was that. We know when we visit Glendon House it us like home from home the bedroom we were in was recently decorated and once again the standard of decor excellent. If you need a place to stay in Matlock this is the only place to stay breakfasts to die for and staff always friendly we shall be back hopefully again in September. Well done Adrian and Damien for the high standards at Glendon House

SB
February 2017

Fantastic stay from start to finish

We stayed in a beautiful double room with decor in line with what you’d expect from a boutique hotel. There was another room attached and only accessible from the main room. This had a double bunk bed and two boxes of toys for our children to play with, who are 1 and 4. There was also enough room to fit our travel cot for our youngest.

The mini-bar was stocked with a few treats all at prices you would find in a supermarket. There were also lots of drinks to choose from at the free tea and coffee station along with some yummy biscuits.

The staff were so helpful and carried our heavy luggage up the stairs. They were always willing to help with any questions/requests we had. We received customer service at its best! We would have happily stayed longer and were pretty sad to leave. We hope to go back again in the near future.”

A Family

Like a 5 star boutique hotel

We were warmly welcomed by the host ,Adrian with a pot of tea and delicious homemade lemon drizzle cake ! Our ‘family room’ was perfect, tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. We were so impressed with the guesthouse we asked if we could stay another night but they were fully booked for the rest of the week , not surprising really for accommodation of this quality.

RL
November 2016

Fantastic place to stay

This is a place we have stayed many times. It is beautifully maintained guest house with great attention to detail. The owners are very pleasant and work hard to ensure your stay is perfect. It’s well worth the money which I feel is excellent value for money. There are lots to do in Matlock to keep you busy. Will return again very soon. Thanks for a fantastic few days.

PR
October 2016

Fantastic B&B

We stayed for a short weekend away in the 4 poster room, we went on a recommendation and we have now recommended to our family and friends! The breakfast is absolutely brilliant, I couldn’t fault anything about our stay, hoping to return soon – thanks for a lovely break.

TW
October 2016

What a find!

Just returned from a lovely one night stay at Glendon House, what a find! Super warm welcome from Damien. The lounge for guests to use is beautiful and within 5 min of arrival were asked if we would like tea and cake. A very nice touch. Our room No (1)the four poster is so nice with a lovely view of the church a little bridge and a babbling brook, so very restful. This boutique B&B came recommended by friends and everything they told us was true…highly recommend a stay here. Like us, you will return…can’t wait!! Thank you Adrian and Damien, brill stay!

S & B
September 2016

Excellent guest house

Our first visit to Derbyshire and spent some time researching accommodation, luckily we got it right choosing Glendon Guest House. The rooms are all beautifully decorated. We were welcomed with coffee and delicious date and walnut cake which must have been homemade . The room was comfortable, good quality furnishings and nice large shower. Breakfasts served on crisp white linen tablecloths with selection of cereals, fresh fruit, English breakfast etc. We arrived by train, a short easy walk away and used local buses to visit Bakewell and Buxton enjoying the views on the way. Should mention everything spotlessly clean in the guest house.

Anne M.
September 2016

Glendon

Great house, great welcome, great recommendations, great part of the world and the wonderful Jasper. We spent 6 nights at Glendon and used it as a base for exploring the Derwent Valley. Haddon Hall and Chatsworth House are on the door steep as well as the Derwent Valley Mills a World Heritage site which we would highly recommend.

moirebra
September 2016

Last minute booking

We were booked elsewhere for 3 nights but after the first night we did not want to return and was not happy with the accommodation or staff. So we used trip advisor to find this charming guest house and it was perfect. The room was very comfortable and we would say 5 star quality also the breakfast was excellent. Staff also very friendly. We walked a short distance to parks, gardens and more than enough things to do . Also shops, bars and restaurants very close. We are recommending this venue to all our customers as we own a post office/newsagents in Charlesworth and we had lovely break.

Dori
Dori

Perfect location, perfect amenities, prefect hosts – what more can I say?

Having had a wonderful Christmas stay with family next door at Derwent House, we decided to stay, as a couple this time, at the B&B in Glendon House. What a delight it is. The rooms are beautifully clean and lavishly decorated in sympathy with the style of house. All we could need was provided (including ear plugs so I wondered if someone had been talking about my husband!) and the view from our room at the front of the house up to the church is quintessentially English. The choice at breakfast is exceptional and a great start to the day – whatever you have planned.
This is a tranquil oasis in central Matlock with good restaurants close by. We are returning with a group of friends in September and I have no doubts that they will all be as impressed as we are.

Jane R
August 2016

Great stay in a beautiful property

We were well looked after in this beautiful house in a great location. The room was excellent and the breakfast set you up to face the world! Our dog Millie was also well catered for. We would strongly recommend this B&B.

GarfieldOK
August 2016

Classy and Personal

You’ll love this place as it just oozes class, friendliness and particular attention to detail. From the spacious car park on arrival, to a warm welcome from the likeable owners and the offer of a cup of tea or coffee to settle you in. The rooms are very nicely decorated and homely, with a complimentary fridge which houses a little bottle of milk for you to have with your tea or coffee instead of using the yucky UHT pods.
Breakfast is outstanding and the ingredients are all of excellent quality, and service is definitely with a smile.
I think you’ll find it very hard to find anywhere that matches the sheer class of this quality residence, along with the personal touches that makes your stay that bit more special. I won’t spoil it, but there was a very nice surprise waiting for us when we returned to our room on the second night!

Jaysterslippers
August 2016

Wonderful hotel

What a delight it was to stay in this wonderful hotel where the owners could not do enough for you from your time of arrival to you time of departure. We were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and a delicious piece of cake on our arrival. The room was beautifully decorated and the attention to details was second to none. The breakfast was superb and so was the decor all around us. It was our first time in this hotel but it won’t be the last! The owners are so friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Wonderful stay in a wonderful setting! Thank you.

Claude M
August 2016

Weekend treat!

Booked this as a birthday treat having been here a few times before ..glad to say everything was as fantastic as ever , greeted with a fresh pot of tea and lemon cake after a long journey , just the job . Beautiful & clean , superb breakfasts , cant really eulogise enough about this wonderful guest house .
Thanks to all at Glendon for a fab weekend !

Todd B
August 2016

Another perfect stay

This was our third stay at Glendon, again staying in the family room which we have never been able to better. The welcome was friendly as always, and the home made cake delicious! Our 4 year old daughter was catered for particularly well at breakfast with ‘children’s ‘ cutlery, and she especially loved the blueberry pancakes. We visited Chatsworth House, only a short car journey away, and were able to buy our tickets at Glendon thus saving us both time and money. A restful nights sleep in an exceptionally comfortable bed; our daughter loved the bunk bed and selection of toys/books provided. We will be back!

Sarah D
August 2016

Surprise short break

Short midweek break with my wife and a couple of friends.
Booked on recommendation from some other friends who had stayed a few times before and was not disappointed.
Sufficient parking and a short walk through the park to the busy town centre. Italian and Indian restaurants recommended.
High quality establishment, very nice clean rooms, comfortable beds and high quality fittings throughout.
Varied and quality breakfast with nothing too much trouble.
Adrian and Damian, hosts and owners couldn’t have been more helpful.
We have never been to Matlock before so we cant compare the Glendon to others, but after the delightful experience we had – why would you want to!!

Kevin S
August 2016

Review

Had a two night weekend stay here with our friends at the beginning of August. We were welcomed when checking in with tea/coffee and a slice of beautiful home made lemon drizzle cake and shown to our room (no 3) with a four poster bed and lovely views of the church and it’s grounds. Lots of choice for breakfast but went for the full English which was nicely cooked with quality local ingredients. Hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful with an extensive knowledge of the local area. Will not hesitate to stay here again when back down in the Matlock area.

Andy S

Wow!

Where do you start with somewhere like the Glendon.From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left everything was perfect. Adrian greeted our arrival with an offer of tea and cake.Nothing was too much trouble. The little touches in the room,silent mini fridge,chocolates wine glasses….no drinking from the tooth mug here ….Oh and fresh milk.Everywhere is spotlessly clean,tastefully decorated and feels like a home from home.The breakfast set us up for the day, wish I could cook poached eggs like that.Thankyou to Yvonne for her smile in the morning and for her memory for what we liked.We will be back and hope it wont be too long before we visit again.Thank you

RuthiebabeHeacham
June 2016

Could not find fault

We stayed for two nights at the Glendon Guest House and were very pleased with the guest house itself (rooms and facilities, etc) and also with the friendly service provided by the proprietors.
This is a thoroughly clean and comfortable place to stay with good parking and within a short walk of the town centre. We are happy to recommend this lovely…

Plaskitts
June 2016

Fabulous Bed and breakfast – Highly recommended

I stayed here for one night to watch a football match and from my arrival to departure, felt that nothing was too much trouble for Adrian. I was given an incredibly friendly welcome and the whole hotel was impeccably clean and stylishly furnished and decorated. My room was large and comfortable and fabulous value for money. Location wise, it’s 2 minutes from the centre of Matlock and probably 7 minutes walk to the station if you cut across the park. My breakfast was fantastic – freshly cooked and high quality food. I have stayed in and around Matlock several times because i often work there and this would definitely be the my first choice place to stay.

Mikey
July 2016

Did you enjoy your stay?

Why not leave us a Google Review (you will need to have a Google account).

Review form for the website

Required

rating fields

“Warm friendly welcome. Impeccable B&B throughout”

TripAdvisor Review

Events in and around Derbyshire

diamond shaped scroll

Event images around Derbyshire

Our news and articles

diamond shaped scroll

 

Visiting Derbyshire during COVID-19

Visiting Derbyshire during COVID-19

The one thing a B&B needs is guests, so It is fantastic to be open again after just over three months. Our first guests have stayed at Glendon this week and it is great to know they felt welcomed, enjoyed the hospitality but could also see the precautions we have taken, as unobtrusively as possible