Welcome to Glendon B&B sign

Glendon B&B Reviews

scroll 2

Take a look at our reviews from previous guests. If you have already stayed with us, we would love to hear from you about your time at Glendon. To leave a review please complete the from below.

Fabulous stay

This was our third stay at Glendon Guest House. The whole experience was fabulous. The house is just beautiful, the hosts are very accommodating (and entertaining) and breakfast is amazing! We shall be returning.

VW
26 May 2017

Another Perfect Stay.

I spend a weekend in Matlock every year with four friends I met at Matlock college. For the last four years we have stayed at the Glendon. We all find The Glendon the perfect base for our stay. The attention to detail in every area is faultless. We feel very well looked after, from the lemon drizzle cake to the lovely comfy beds. There are good eating places within walking distance and good parking belonging to the house. Each year I do not look anywhere else to stay because The Glendon is so comfortable and friendly and every need is catered for before we need to ask.

Di
May 19th - 21st. 2017

Fabulous once again

This was our 6th visit to this beautiful house. We were meet by Damien who provided us with fresh cream scones and jam and as it was my birthday they had left me an orchid plant in the room how thoughtful was that. We know when we visit Glendon House it us like home from home the bedroom we were in was recently decorated and once again the standard of decor excellent. If you need a place to stay in Matlock this is the only place to stay breakfasts to die for and staff always friendly we shall be back hopefully again in September. Well done Adrian and Damien for the high standards at Glendon House

SB
27th February 2017

Fantastic stay from start to finish

We stayed in a beautiful double room with decor in line with what you’d expect from a boutique hotel. There was another room attached and only accessible from the main room. This had a double bunk bed and two boxes of toys for our children to play with, who are 1 and 4. There was also enough room to fit our travel cot for our youngest.

The mini-bar was stocked with a few treats all at prices you would find in a supermarket. There were also lots of drinks to choose from at the free tea and coffee station along with some yummy biscuits.

The staff were so helpful and carried our heavy luggage up the stairs. They were always willing to help with any questions/requests we had. We received customer service at its best! We would have happily stayed longer and were pretty sad to leave. We hope to go back again in the near future.”

A Family

Like a 5 star boutique hotel

We were warmly welcomed by the host ,Adrian with a pot of tea and delicious homemade lemon drizzle cake ! Our ‘family room’ was perfect, tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. We were so impressed with the guesthouse we asked if we could stay another night but they were fully booked for the rest of the week , not surprising really for accommodation of this quality.

RL
November 2016

Fantastic place to stay

This is a place we have stayed many times. It is beautifully maintained guest house with great attention to detail. The owners are very pleasant and work hard to ensure your stay is perfect. It’s well worth the money which I feel is excellent value for money. There are lots to do in Matlock to keep you busy. Will return again very soon. Thanks for a fantastic few days.

PR
October 2016

Fantastic B&B

We stayed for a short weekend away in the 4 poster room, we went on a recommendation and we have now recommended to our family and friends! The breakfast is absolutely brilliant, I couldn’t fault anything about our stay, hoping to return soon – thanks for a lovely break.

TW
October 2016

What a find!

Just returned from a lovely one night stay at Glendon House, what a find! Super warm welcome from Damien. The lounge for guests to use is beautiful and within 5 min of arrival were asked if we would like tea and cake. A very nice touch. Our room No (1)the four poster is so nice with a lovely view of the church a little bridge and a babbling brook, so very restful. This boutique B&B came recommended by friends and everything they told us was true…highly recommend a stay here. Like us, you will return…can’t wait!! Thank you Adrian and Damien, brill stay!

S & B
September 2016

Excellent guest house

Our first visit to Derbyshire and spent some time researching accommodation, luckily we got it right choosing Glendon Guest House. The rooms are all beautifully decorated. We were welcomed with coffee and delicious date and walnut cake which must have been homemade . The room was comfortable, good quality furnishings and nice large shower. Breakfasts served on crisp white linen tablecloths with selection of cereals, fresh fruit, English breakfast etc. We arrived by train, a short easy walk away and used local buses to visit Bakewell and Buxton enjoying the views on the way. Should mention everything spotlessly clean in the guest house.

Anne M.
September 2016

Glendon

Great house, great welcome, great recommendations, great part of the world and the wonderful Jasper. We spent 6 nights at Glendon and used it as a base for exploring the Derwent Valley. Haddon Hall and Chatsworth House are on the door steep as well as the Derwent Valley Mills a World Heritage site which we would highly recommend.

moirebra
September 2016

Last minute booking

We were booked elsewhere for 3 nights but after the first night we did not want to return and was not happy with the accommodation or staff. So we used trip advisor to find this charming guest house and it was perfect. The room was very comfortable and we would say 5 star quality also the breakfast was excellent. Staff also very friendly. We walked a short distance to parks, gardens and more than enough things to do . Also shops, bars and restaurants very close. We are recommending this venue to all our customers as we own a post office/newsagents in Charlesworth and we had lovely break.

Dori
August 2016

Perfect location, perfect amenities, prefect hosts – what more can I say?

Having had a wonderful Christmas stay with family next door at Derwent House, we decided to stay, as a couple this time, at the B&B in Glendon House. What a delight it is. The rooms are beautifully clean and lavishly decorated in sympathy with the style of house. All we could need was provided (including ear plugs so I wondered if someone had been talking about my husband!) and the view from our room at the front of the house up to the church is quintessentially English. The choice at breakfast is exceptional and a great start to the day – whatever you have planned.
This is a tranquil oasis in central Matlock with good restaurants close by. We are returning with a group of friends in September and I have no doubts that they will all be as impressed as we are.

Jane R
August 2016

Great stay in a beautiful property

We were well looked after in this beautiful house in a great location. The room was excellent and the breakfast set you up to face the world! Our dog Millie was also well catered for. We would strongly recommend this B&B.

GarfieldOK
August 2016

Classy and Personal

You’ll love this place as it just oozes class, friendliness and particular attention to detail. From the spacious car park on arrival, to a warm welcome from the likeable owners and the offer of a cup of tea or coffee to settle you in. The rooms are very nicely decorated and homely, with a complimentary fridge which houses a little bottle of milk for you to have with your tea or coffee instead of using the yucky UHT pods.
Breakfast is outstanding and the ingredients are all of excellent quality, and service is definitely with a smile.
I think you’ll find it very hard to find anywhere that matches the sheer class of this quality residence, along with the personal touches that makes your stay that bit more special. I won’t spoil it, but there was a very nice surprise waiting for us when we returned to our room on the second night!

Jaysterslippers
August 2016

Wonderful hotel

What a delight it was to stay in this wonderful hotel where the owners could not do enough for you from your time of arrival to you time of departure. We were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and a delicious piece of cake on our arrival. The room was beautifully decorated and the attention to details was second to none. The breakfast was superb and so was the decor all around us. It was our first time in this hotel but it won’t be the last! The owners are so friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Wonderful stay in a wonderful setting! Thank you.

Claude M
August 2016

Weekend treat!

Booked this as a birthday treat having been here a few times before ..glad to say everything was as fantastic as ever , greeted with a fresh pot of tea and lemon cake after a long journey , just the job . Beautiful & clean , superb breakfasts , cant really eulogise enough about this wonderful guest house .
Thanks to all at Glendon for a fab weekend !

Todd B
August 2016

Another perfect stay

This was our third stay at Glendon, again staying in the family room which we have never been able to better. The welcome was friendly as always, and the home made cake delicious! Our 4 year old daughter was catered for particularly well at breakfast with ‘children’s ‘ cutlery, and she especially loved the blueberry pancakes. We visited Chatsworth House, only a short car journey away, and were able to buy our tickets at Glendon thus saving us both time and money. A restful nights sleep in an exceptionally comfortable bed; our daughter loved the bunk bed and selection of toys/books provided. We will be back!

Sarah D
August 2016

Surprise short break

Short midweek break with my wife and a couple of friends.
Booked on recommendation from some other friends who had stayed a few times before and was not disappointed.
Sufficient parking and a short walk through the park to the busy town centre. Italian and Indian restaurants recommended.
High quality establishment, very nice clean rooms, comfortable beds and high quality fittings throughout.
Varied and quality breakfast with nothing too much trouble.
Adrian and Damian, hosts and owners couldn’t have been more helpful.
We have never been to Matlock before so we cant compare the Glendon to others, but after the delightful experience we had – why would you want to!!

Kevin S
August 2016

Review

Had a two night weekend stay here with our friends at the beginning of August. We were welcomed when checking in with tea/coffee and a slice of beautiful home made lemon drizzle cake and shown to our room (no 3) with a four poster bed and lovely views of the church and it’s grounds. Lots of choice for breakfast but went for the full English which was nicely cooked with quality local ingredients. Hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful with an extensive knowledge of the local area. Will not hesitate to stay here again when back down in the Matlock area.

Andy S
August 2016

Wow!

Where do you start with somewhere like the Glendon.From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left everything was perfect. Adrian greeted our arrival with an offer of tea and cake.Nothing was too much trouble. The little touches in the room,silent mini fridge,chocolates wine glasses….no drinking from the tooth mug here ….Oh and fresh milk.Everywhere is spotlessly clean,tastefully decorated and feels like a home from home.The breakfast set us up for the day, wish I could cook poached eggs like that.Thankyou to Yvonne for her smile in the morning and for her memory for what we liked.We will be back and hope it wont be too long before we visit again.Thank you

RuthiebabeHeacham
July 2016

Could not find fault

We stayed for two nights at the Glendon Guest House and were very pleased with the guest house itself (rooms and facilities, etc) and also with the friendly service provided by the proprietors.
This is a thoroughly clean and comfortable place to stay with good parking and within a short walk of the town centre. We are happy to recommend this lovely…

Plaskitts
June 2016

Fabulous Bed and breakfast – Highly recommended

I stayed here for one night to watch a football match and from my arrival to departure, felt that nothing was too much trouble for Adrian. I was given an incredibly friendly welcome and the whole hotel was impeccably clean and stylishly furnished and decorated. My room was large and comfortable and fabulous value for money. Location wise, it’s 2 minutes from the centre of Matlock and probably 7 minutes walk to the station if you cut across the park. My breakfast was fantastic – freshly cooked and high quality food. I have stayed in and around Matlock several times because i often work there and this would definitely be the my first choice place to stay.

Mikey
July 2016

We look forward to welcoming you and sharing our stunning Derbyshire countryside.

There's so much to see and do.
Book a room
Member of visit Peak District and Derbyshire
Reuse, reduce recycle at Glendon Guest House
Wolsey Lodges - Glendon Guest House
Glendon-bed-and-breakfast-logo-top Bed & Breakfast Matlock, Derbyshire
Tel: 01629 584 732
Glendon-bed-and-breakfast-logo-top
Bed & Breakfast Matlock, Derbyshire
Tel: 01629 584 732

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close